New Addition

Friday afternoon, I just couldn’t contain myself.  We were supposed to drive up to Rockwall (outside of Dallas and about three hours north of us) Saturday morning for a noon-ish appointment with the breeder.  Since I had wrapped up my work a little early the day before, though, I just didn’t see the point in waiting.  I called the owner to see if she could, by chance, see us that evening, and just minutes later, we were on our way.

The breeder, Deb, was just awesome.  She’s a small hobby breeder, and she was knowledgable and obviously went the extra mile to take care of her babies.  She even insisted that we sanitize our hands before touching any of the puppies.  We grilled her with questions, and she grilled us right back.  It’s important to her that her puppies go to good, suitable, loving homes.  After spending nearly an hour with the pups and after much debate, we decided to bring home a seven week old, red and white male.  And he’s perfect.  So without further ado, meet the newest member of our ever growing family, Bruce, short for his soon to be AKC name, Spanky’s Chugalug Brewski.  Spanky was his sire, and Chugalug Brewski… well, it is me and Chuck we’re talking about here.
 

bruce

He’s got such a wonderful temperament.  He’s a snuggler, but he’s also really playful.  He loves his crate — I expected to have to coax him into it.  He already goes to the door when he needs to do his business.  He barks and growls in his sleep, and he trills like a cat.  And speaking of the cats, they’re all getting along pretty well.  Willie has been the most adventurous and curious so far, and has even playfully pounced on him a couple of times.  I think they’re probably going to end up being buddies.  Cash has not yet been brave enough to get close (though he watches him carefully from his perch in the window), and Priscilla just ignores him (just like she does pretty much everything).  I’ve had my Flip out quite a bit the last few days, so I’ll upload some video when I get a chance.
 

bruce

bruce

Saturday, we vegged out most the day.  Reno came over, and he and Chuck hogged the TV playing Battlefield 2.  After being up all night with the new puppy, all it took was a couple of Mai Tai’s and a slice of pizza around lunch to knock me out on the floor for a couple hours.  That night, the three of us caught a 10:30pm showing of Kick Ass.  Weird, weird movie, but I liked it.  I wasn’t expecting so much action and drama.  I was really expecting a superbad type of movie, but I liked the feel.  Oh, and I totally want to be Hit-Girl.  "Okay, you cunts.  Let’s see what you can do now."

Sunday night, we picked up Reno and drove down to the BackYard in Austin to see ZZ Top.  It was awesome, and I’m glad that I had the opportunity to see them live in my lifetime.  Certain songs remind me of my first trip to Iraq and of meeting Chuck — Waitin’ on the Bus and Jesus Just Left Chicago, specifically.  They just bring back good memories.  Of course, I had my flip, and I was able to catch much of the performance on video.  Plus, Reno was hitting it off with one of the bartenders at the show, and she was mixing drinks for us nice and strong.  Poor Chuck had to drive mine and Reno’s drunk asses home, but I think I got some really hilarious video out of it.  I haven’t had a chance to review it yet, so I should probably make sure it’s suitable for posting to the interwebs…

Cheers!
Felina

Log in to write a note
April 27, 2010

What a cutie! I’ve always wanted an English Bulldog. Someday I will have one! =) I hope you will be posting piles of pictures of this guy.

April 27, 2010

OH MY GOODNESS!!!!! He is the cutest little puppy I have ever seen *melts*

April 27, 2010

Ok, I’m not a dog person at all, and I’m still melting at the cuteness.

April 27, 2010

Oh he is so cute 🙂

April 27, 2010

awwwwww such a cutie

April 27, 2010

Awww….see? aren’t they the cutest puppies everr!!!!! He is adorable!!

April 27, 2010

Aww! I want one!

April 27, 2010

omgomgomgomgomg, sooooooooooo cute. 🙂 Congrats on the new addition to your family. 🙂

April 27, 2010

what a cute face!!!

April 27, 2010

*dead from teh cute* he is positively ADORABLE! i’m glad my upstairs roommate is out of town, cuz when i saw that first picture i went SQUEEE! really loud.

April 27, 2010

He is precious!

April 27, 2010

Hes so cute!!

April 28, 2010

he is so cute, and that is a wonderful name!!

April 28, 2010
April 28, 2010

He is ADORABLE!

April 28, 2010

That is such a cute dog.

April 28, 2010

RYN: I’ve been here. I’ve just found it more interesting to read others that write about my boringness. 🙂

April 28, 2010

i so want a puppy like that one! he is adorable! glad things are going well with him!

April 28, 2010

Wow, he’s really cute! I want a puppy that I can take photos of, then sent hin/her back to mommy. Can’t handle a pup right now. RYN: What lens are you using?!? I have the same body as you, with the kit lens. Your pictures are so nice and clear!

May 1, 2010

Ohhhh How adorable is he! I came across you on random. I have an olde english. I just LOVE them. Every little wrinkle. He is just gorgeous. Thats one good looking boy!

June 6, 2010

omgosh..that dog is soooo adorable!! ^_^

July 1, 2010

CUTE!!!

July 23, 2010

And here I thought you’d gotten yourself knocked up and were joining the mommy club at last!

August 25, 2010

Four months away – maybe you are knocked-up by now??? Enquiring minds want to know.

November 20, 2010

OMG, I love him!