Keeping my eye on the sky

Hello, my name is Fidel Andrada

I was in gym class when my teacher suggested we go outside and play softball. As we made our way out to the field, my stomach slowly turned into a giant knot of fear.

Softball is just not my game. I have a knack for always getting hit in the head by the ball. It doesn’t matter where I’m standing. The ball just seems to find me.
My teammates gave me a glove and put me way out in left field. I didn’t complain. I just wanted to make sure I knew when gym class ended so I wouldn’t be left behind.
Nothing happened the first three innings. Well, things happened but not in my little part of the softball field. I started daydreaming. The next thing I knew, I heard the sound of a ball whizzing through the air. I put up my glove to protect my head, and an amazing thing happened.
I caught the ball in my glove! Not only did I catch the ball, but I helped my team to win. I was a hero to my classmates for the rest of the day.

And I learned something. I may not always see the flying balls that come my way, but I can always take a chance and try to catch one.

Log in to write a note