The downside of having reached a better position

My brain is being vampirized (vampirised? forget it, I don’t like either spelling) by the problem of finding editing work.

Whether I am paying attention to the problem or am for the moment ignoring it, I cannot be going full-tilt into any thinking topic.  There is an oppression of not doing what I am supposed to do.  (Which is not to say that my head is empty – the space is filled by rampageously unoriginal daydreams that come by themselves and give me a dreamy feeling of living a satisfying life. By unoriginal I mean magpie plagiaristic; I took the Crawley family from Downton Abbey to go meet the mountain gorillas and have introduced them to Lisbeth Salander, if that gives you an idea.  But that is not actual attention paid to anything.)  If I could just be already working and getting on with it, then I could… argh.  The theoretically enhanced ability to get editing work with this damned Certificate has gummed it all up. If I have no work time, but need to find some, that means I have no off time in two different senses, and the days are filled with the only thing left, which is navel fluff!

I had to read back to find out what I had written about in the last few entries.  I’m not foreseeing a great burst of entrifying in the near future.  I need to solve this.  If anyone needs a copyeditor, or knows someone who does, please let me know!

(And I have not even written anything about, or sparked by, the burning of the library in Timbuktu.  You’d think I would have.)

Log in to write a note
February 4, 2013

yes, i would have thought you’d have written about that. i wish i needed a copyeditor. i don’t at the moment, but i’m still plugging away at my memoir. i might need you one day; would you accept? 🙂

side lateral arabesque. consider working as a cataloger in the library system. i think that they would be interested in you and you would find the pay scale comparable.

Best wishes for finding work very soon. Are you advertising anywhere, I wonder?

I hope you find work soon. And the library in Timbuktu…sigh.

February 6, 2013

Are you on elance, by chance?