The milestones

My mom keeps a diary to record garden-related events.

Yesterday – yesterday last year – Mom and I and my sister Catherine drove out to Heirloom Roses.  Gwen didn’t go with us because she wasn’t feeling well – nonspecific tummy ows. I was sorry she wasn’t along. I found something in the display garden that I wanted, a miniature rose called Carnival Glass, that seemed to glow from within; they didn’t have it, so I ended up getting it later on eBay. On the way back we stopped at another garden center and ended up buying a Chinese statue of a laughing god with a dragon draped over his shoulders, which now sits by our front door. Then we stopped at a brewpub called Fanno Creek in Tigard – just a hundred feet or so from the actual creek – and had a really good meal. I made a particular note that I had to take Gwen there on our next outing west of town. 

Sometime in these two or three days through here – I don’t know which day, no one knows now or will ever know – was the evening, relaxed and dark and with no premonitions, when Gwen asked me if I would look at something odd, and I looked, and said, "Hm."
 
Yesterday, the 12th of June, last year was that trip when Gwen stayed home.  She only saw the morning of the next 12th. 
 
So strange, how this ends badly.

Log in to write a note

So fast, how everything changed. Thinking of you as you move through this next month.

June 16, 2013

I still can’t wrap my head around it; cannot even begin to imagine your viewpoint. Thinking of you.

life can pivot on a dime and hand you 9 cents change. you will always love her and she will forever be young in your heart.

<3