I’m kind of not a big deal…

Sorry I haven’t been noting or writing anything lately. Busy being a new dad at home and busy at work after having a 10-day vacation so I could be with my son and going through a major transition in the office

So they did hire a new Comptroller here, and I don’t like him. He’s a douche. The other co-workers don’t like him either. I’m honestly definitely on my way out of here now. I’ll have to wait until my wife returns to work and has her benefits kick in before I do leave though. WIth our first kid we definitely need the insurance and all that good stuff. Plus I’ve always hated the long commute, and now even more so since I want to go home to my son quicker

Speaking of which, last Friday we had a winter storm here in Houston and around the south. I know the people up north were laughing at us because we don’t know how to drive on ice. Well Houstonians can’t drive anyways, so put us all on roads of ice and it’s just a catastrophe waiting to happen, haha

So I didn’t want to go to work on Friday. 60 miles of ice driving is just not worth it. However the new douchey boss wasn’t cool with that. He wanted me to come in anyways. So after several emails and several phone calls, finally about lunch time he gave up in trying to make me venture into the highway havoc

I get if you’re a new boss you want to demand respect. But seriously, have a little humanity in your thought process. The roads are backed up, some people were on a highway for 5 hours straight without moving. I have a newborn at home, so I have a new extra cautious approach to anything I do. Plus I have huge hospital bills to pay now so don’t need to pay for a totaled car too, haha. Plus of course my personal safety

And for what? I’m a freaking accountant! I don’t save lives, I crunch numbers. And there’s no reports due for another week. I’m not a doctor, not a nurse, not a police officer, not a fireman, so why would me being in my office on that one day be so damn important?

moral of the story: There are certain men and women out there born with a sense of duty to put their lives on the line to protect others from harm… and none of them enter the field of accounting…

Have a Nice Day!

Log in to write a note