Theme of the Week: What is going on around you right now

Humid air hanging over everything, making the papers on my desk soggy and soft; worn out, beat up textbooks lined up like soldiers on the windowsill, having done their duty as weighing down backpacks; rows of empty desks facing me with the memories of profound and lighthearted interactions; fan circulating in the back of the room, weakly stirring the wet, humid air (will we ever get ac?); hallways silent, anticipating the final arrival and cacophony of students on their final day of school; this teacher looking around at my cleared off desk, my graduation gown waiting to be donned for the ceremony and my sweating large coffee from Dunkin’ Donuts (in a Tervis mug that was a gift from a student, bought with a gift card from a student) and realizing…it’s here. Summer 2019. Have I done what I could this year? Have I reached them? Have I helped them learn, not just content, but life skills?

And finally. Done. My own kids done too. 10 weeks of days with my babies (wait. 10 weeks of days with my kids….what’ll we DO…gotta keep ’em off screens)!

Bye school year 2018-2019.

My 21st year teaching.

My 10th year as mom.

giphy gif

Log in to write a note
kat
June 19, 2019

enjoy your summer!