Current Rambling

I haven’t had much to write – that’s pretty much how I am these days. I get to work, talk with MotoGem off and on about random things all day. I drive home and work on the house for a couple of hours – until about 6:30. Most days I make sure to get the dishes in the dishwasher or put away if the dishwasher was started the night before. I settle in for the night to play either Forza Horizon or the Sims 2. The deconstruction/demolition phase of the renovation is just about complete. I think this weekend we will be repairing the subfloor in the bathroom (repairing it the right way). That will then allow us to begin reassembling the bathroom. The aim is to get one room a month done. The first piece is the bathroom. July will be the Dining Room. After that we’re not sure. If we finish the living room, we can move our living room out of our bedroom. If we complete the study, it will be a makeshift bedroom until we need to convert the garage into bedrooms and remodel our current bedroom.
This spring it seems like it’s been difficult to adjust to the length of daylight. The sun is starting to rise in the 5 o’clock hour and is up until almost 9 PM. I don’t get a full night’s sleep most nights and I’ve adapted to that enough to where when I sleep 8 hours I am mentally foggy all day.
I was looking over my birthday tarot reading I did in 2011 and was pondering the philosophy of that. A lot of it came to be true. However, if the cards had been different I was thinking I still would have seen truth. That means that it’s natural to look at the cards and say, “that was right” in my case… or someone else could be in the same situation and say, “that was so far from what happened it’s not even funny.” I also pondered if to a degree it could be a self-fulfilling prophecy. I see the cards and then subconsciously expect these sorts of things to happen. That idea is a little hard to track. In any case, tarot readings are for entertainment only and shouldn’t be taken seriously.
Lastly, I’ve been thinking about a point Twin made awhile back – I wasn’t ready until now for a full-time position. I often think I’m still not ready for a full-time job. I often think about looking at what jobs are available, and following up at places I’ve already worked such as TrueBlue and Liberty Mutual. I took this job paying less instead of a job paying more but still in Seattle. Right now money is tight and I think maybe I should’ve taken a higher paying job despite the fact it was contract based and in Seattle. I also miss riding my bike to work. As if that weren’t enough, I preoccupy my mind with trying to identify trades where I can work by myself. I would be freed from being around people who lower my aspirations. When you’re a person who is as adaptable and whimsy as me, the people who surround you is paramount to your happiness and ability to achieve greater success.
So I guess the problem is I am living in my own mind more than voicing what I think about. It’s easier for me to cope this way rather than having others to concern themselves with issues they can’t help me with. The most important thing is I have mentioned all this to Twin.

Log in to write a note
May 21, 2013

i would love to have a job where i could work for myself. i should have listened to my parents and went to college instead of going straight to factory work. im an idiot about most things until it’s too late

May 22, 2013

this is the first year that the sun staying up so late is really just bothering me. maybe its because i’m going to bed so much earlier than past years? not sure but eek….9pm, it just seems too late, right? exciting about your renovations, one a month….wow you guys are trucking right along. we have contractors starting on our hall bath next week, i’m super stoked for that project!:)

May 23, 2013

RE: Because in my county, it’s hard to find a place to live in the first place. Secondly, even harder to break a lease and find some place new in the middle of the ski season. I wouldn’t have chosen to stay, but that’s why I took a 5 week break and left CO in February.

May 26, 2013

The Sims 2? Why haven’t you got the Sims 3! It’s a great game…I hear Sims 4 is even coming out though…ugh!

May 31, 2013

ryn: You can turn off that feature, but I guess probably that turns it off in your own house too…I enjoy that feature so I’ve never done it.