Vegucated

Vegucated… that was a very gut-checking documentary.
Twin was at Weight Watchers last night, and I was sitting down to eat dinner, play the Sims 2, and since we cancelled our cable I was cruising Netflix to see what documentaries they had available for background stimulation (because there are passive moments while playing the Sims even with 8 sims in the same dormitory). “Vegucated” was one of those. I was just 10 to 20 minutes into watching the documentary when Twin arrived home.
That was a great documentary… it was way more brutally honest than “Food, Inc.” This may be too much information in the rest of the paragraph… but, they showed hens with 2/3rds of their beaks melted off; chickens with a over-strained uterus (basically hens that are unable to push the egg out); dead chicks on the floor; putting male chicks in augers to be ground into food (for cattle, chickens, and pigs); ripping baby calfs away from their mothers and re-inseminating them; the large ponds of fecal waste… and so much more that I fail to describe.
Two stats really stuck with me:
–          Out of 10 Billion (10,000,000,000)farm animals, 9 Billion (9,000,000,000) are chickens
–          19% of our greenhouse gases are from animal farming; Transportation creates 13%

Twin and I are actually pretty good when it comes to eating vegetarian. My breakfast is shredded wheat with vanilla, unsweetened Almond milk. My mid morning snack is a revolving door of clif bars, honey roasted peanuts, and bread with Nutella. Lunch is usually left-overs from dinner…. Dinner has been mostly meat free for the past week or two. When Twin started going back to Weight Watchers, she picked up a cookbook titled “Veg Power!” The recipes are kind of bland, but Twin did say that WW books tend contain bland recipes. We’ll always be vegetarians though, because baked desserts need eggs to be worthwhile… and cheese is pretty good in moderation.

In my personal life, things are moving along. I have done some deconstruction in the house. That has been pulling staples out of the ceiling, taking down some drywall and window dressings and trim. Outside I fill up the yard waste bin weekly and move cut wood out from the backyard and into the front. The backyard is just about ready for leveling. It will be nice to get the dining room to the point where we are putting in the sliding glass door and build our patio in the back yard.

Log in to write a note
April 17, 2013

I have to watch that. HAVE to. Food Inc changed my life and I’ve seen it three times over the past three years that I’ve been a vegetarian. Your diet sounds pretty good. I don’t believe that one person can single-handedly change the farming and agriculture industry but I do believe that each person swearing off mass produced cruel meats and byproducts is making a difference. My whole things is that I try to eat clean, unprocessed foods. The chemicals and preservatives in packaged foods (including Cliff bars!) can be nearly as harmful to the body has cruel meat does. So careful with the stuff that comes in packages! I applaud you both for putting an effort towards health and clean living, both physically and morally!

April 17, 2013

I have that documentary in my Netflix que, I’ve been curious to watch it but can hardly stomach the realness you mentioned. So sad how animals are treated. I don’t think I could ever not eat meat, but we do try to get the most natural and cruelty free as we can.

April 17, 2013

astonishing isn’t it? D and I watched both of those documentaries, some parts were just downright horrifying. we still do eat meat, but its infrequently and we’re always careful to only buy meat that is certified organic and/or from local farms that we can visit. in a similar vein, we also more recently watched a documentary about one man’s weight loss journey by juicing. I believe itscalled “Fat Sick and Nearly Dead”. It was pretty interesting even though I personally have no desire to juice or take part in something like that. I was astonished at how much weight he lost and how much he educated himself about introducing foods back into his diet and sticking with a healthy food intake after that point.

I dont think i can ever be a vegetarian, I am fan of meat. However I am cutting back on red meat and staying with turkey chicken and fish. But i dont think I will ever cut meat out completely.

April 22, 2013

I had never heard of that, but am now very interested