Philosopherizingation

Yesterday was a lazy, lazy day. I was feeling crummy (obviously) so I decided to go out to Barnes and Noble. Nerdy, eh? I have been feeling pretty out of whack so I decided to get some philosophy books to make me feel better (and yeah, since I graduated I haven’t been flexing my brain muscles much). I got: On the Genealogy of Morals (Nietzsche), Madness and Civilization (Foucault), and Essays in Existentialism (Sartre). That should pretty much tell you what kind of mood I’m in. I almost got some Schopenhauer but then remembered how little he does for me. Yes, philosophy for me is somewhat emotional and I look to it to make me feel better. Existentialism, when properly done, is soothing (S’s existentialism at least. I do know F rejected existentialism, but whatev).

Anyway. After I got back Meghan and Karoline were finally up and around (around 6pm, yes). K had been at work all day and Meghan spent the entire day sleeping after a night of drinking on Saturday. M and I watched a little tv and I had some hot chocolate… it was pretty low key. I started to do a little reading and then ended up talking to Paul on the phone (and Craig via text). Mr. Persistent texted me but I’m still kindof ticked at him for a few things he said. Isn’t it funny how certain phrases or words can really stick out, even if the situation was supposedly resolved? I know, I shouldn’t be focusing on it.

I had a really restless night sleeping last night, like always. I predictably wake up 3-5 times during the night, feeling anxious and physically uncomfortable. I can’t remember the last time I had a good night’s sleep. I don’t really want to get into a deep analysis of this, I just know it’s inconvenient.

Oh, I also got UNICEF christmas cards from the bookstore last night. You guys should give me your addresses (if you are comfortable with that. I assure you, I don’t have the attention span to be a stalker) and I will send you one. I usually never get around to sending cards, so I’m pretty excited to actually get something done. I haven’t showered today and I don’t know if I will because I don’t have anyone to impress.

Today I’m probably just going to do laundry and eat.. or something. I’m already kindof starting to bore myself.. amazing! I’m trying to look at plane ticket prices for mid-Jan.. I’ll have to try to put in a time off request at work tomorrow.

Log in to write a note
December 3, 2007

I didn’t shower yesterday. There’s something strangely satisfying about being dirty, knowing it, and doing nothing about it.

December 4, 2007

*drolls over your books* You go to a book store to feel better, this is why I love you! (Well not the only reason obviously but you know what I mean…) Grrrrrrr *shakes fist at Mr. Persistent* I’m sorry he’s still bothering you. It’s hard not to focus on stuff sometimes.