Tuna salad honky tonk blues

So it’s almost 11pm and I’m not asleep yet. Last year I would’ve smacked myself for that statement, as I regularly stayed awake until 2am or so. I guess my body is used to that, and if I’m not somehow asleep by 11pm that pretty much guarantees I’ll be up until 2am or so.

I just want to say that Foucault’s "Madness and Civilization" is not good bedtime reading. Lepers! Madmen cast out to sea! "He is a prisoner in the midst of what is the freest, the openest of routes: bound fast at the infinite crossroads". I’m only on page 15, because I only average 2-3 pages a night before falling asleep. I guess in that way it is a good bedtime story, but doesn’t do much for the imagination or for my dreams. Foucault should only be reading for the awake times!

Today the county supervisor came in to speak with us at OCF. He was awesome because he made it so that all the county run cafeterias use biodegradable products and serve healthy foods. He is also the first openly gay official in the county where SJ is, and today they were voting to overturn the ban put in place by the FDA to prohibit gay men from donating blood. Interesting!

Yesterday afternoon/evening I went to a tea party/crafts extravaganza at Bo’s house. Carie, Renae, Erin and Karoline were there as well. It was quite an old-timey girly party–we drank tea, had little sandwiches and cake, watched a movie about female strength and friendship, and made lil’ stuffed animals. I would like to introduce my wonderful creation TROGGLIE (short for troglodyte, a somewhat handy vocab word depending on your social circle):

I took this picture in the parking garage outside of Bo’s place (and with my cell phone), so the quality isn’t very good. He is dark blue with a light green belly, and there is pink stitching around the edges and around his belly. Isn’t he handsome? HE ALSO HAS JUST ONE TOOF. I wasn’t originally planning on putting it there, but I tried it out and it made me laugh. One of these days I’m going to make it out to Best Buy to get some rechargeable batteries for my camera… mm-hmm.

I was at work for 10 hours today so I’m pretty tired. I guess my body doesn’t want to go to sleep because it knows I’ll just have to wake up and go right back there. I really do adore the girls who are on my team, but they like to gossip, and after a day full of gossip I feel cheap and superficial. ::sigh:: I guess it’s just their way of venting though. Well, I guess it isn’t gossip as much as sharing things that actually happen to them, but in a rather hushed kind of way. Yes, these are different things.

Today would have been Paul and I’s 3 year anniversary. ::sigh:: So it goes. I wish I could be more aloof regarding this situation with him, but it’s proving to be a difficult task on a daily basis. Bleh, this is a sentiment frequently expressed by many, many people.

Worst bedtime combination: Foucault and tuna salad. Just in case you were wondering. Not that I would know or anything.

For reals though, I’m going to try to get some sleep

Log in to write a note
February 27, 2008

omg he is sooo cute. How do you make cuddly toys? I want to make one! I can’t believe that in the U.S gay men can’t donate blood, I don’t think it’s the same in the U.K. x

February 27, 2008

The ban on gay men donating blood really baffles me and makes me mad. But. Anyway. Squee! Your Trogglie is so CUTE! (esp. with his one toof).

February 27, 2008

Good Luck on the sleep. And Trooglie is handsome with his one toof. It made me laugh. I MISS you!

February 27, 2008

The little get together sounds rather fun and old fashion. Drinking tea… Mmm. What a cute little guy with so much character! Goodluck with sleeping!

February 27, 2008

That is adorable.. I want one lol… Well hope all is well with you and school.. Work or lack there of… Yeah me and sleep dont mesh well together either if im not sleeping by 10 then im up until probley 5 so yeah i know how that is

February 27, 2008

Trogglie is adorable- I want one!!

February 28, 2008

I’m so glad they’re working to overturn the ruling that gays (I think only gay men, though) cannot donate blood. You’d think with all the shortages they’d WANT more people to donate! (Having said that I need to donate again soon….) Troglodyte is an excellent word, though I’m mildly amused at the misnomer which is the Chimpanzee’s species name. Anyway, Trogglie is toooo cute. *hugs*I hope you slept well

February 29, 2008

Wow….you are crafty! 🙂 Hope you’re doing well sweetie! Love you!