Blog #58

I went out early this morning with blee to go to walmart to pick up some things. I’m not sure how he talked me into it but somehow he did. On the way there and back we chatted and it was nice. I really do like the guy. But the story I have tonite is about something altogether different. On the way back, just a short 5 minutes before reaching home, there was a guy at the side of the road trying to fix his bike. He seemed to recognize me and he talked to me…I eventually figured out that he thought I was Paul Simon and he actually knew quite an amazing amount about the guy. I was fairly sure he was just really messed up on some substance (though not anything through a needle because his arm sleeves were rolled up and I would’ve seen the puncture because I did look) or he had something wrong with him. I think that, perhaps, it was the later. I reached out to him on a non-vocal, non-physical level and I felt that he was incredibly, incredibly troubled and worried, just like I often am, and that he was lonely, too. But much more lonely than I am. I felt that that was the reason, that and not drugs, that was messing him up. So I stayed and listened to him for a good 45 minutes and we talked and it was enjoyable. I feel that, even if just for a time, I helped just by being there when no one else was. I know what it’s like to be lonely and in pain and I know, too, just how precious the moments are when someone really is there beside you listening so I think it was worth it even though I’m going to be EXTREMELY tired tomorrow (see, I didn’t get home til 5:45 am).

It was curious what he had to say, too. I found out towards the end he thought I was Paul Simon. Mmm…strange that he’d see Paul Simon in me.

Log in to write a note
February 23, 2007

It was nice of you to take time out to listen to him 🙂