A More Normal Entry

Unnecessary drama does not appeal to me.  There is more than enough natural drama along our walk through life.  But it does appeal to some, and I cannot always fathom why.  Sometimes it seems to be a ploy to garner more attention or sympathy, other times it seems there are just some people who thrive on discord and are not content unless they have someone to be angry with.  When I run into these overly dramatic situations such as my eldest daughter and her stepdaughter are going through, I never really know how diffuse it let alone handle it.  My mind wants to scream “Stop it!  This is ridiculous!”  My heart tells me it’s a sign that someone is hurting in a way I am not understanding and wants me to wrap my arms around the person going beserk and rock them while screaming “Stop it!  This is ridiculous!”  My gut tells me to stand back and wait and do nothing until tempers have cooled and there is a neutral moment to speak whatever wisdom I might possess.  Unfortunately I often lack the wisdom to know what I am to say and am therefore silent.

How does one diffuse unnecessary drama?  And who’s to judge what is, and  is not necessary?

I was impressed this week at work, by a patient safety initiative hearing  I was asked to attend in regard to a Code Blue that wasn’t called in a timely manner by one of my co-workers.  In the past, under the direction of another governing hospital system, the operators were always in the wrong regardless of what policies and procedures were in place that might protect them.

However under this new governing hospital system that acquired us almost 2 years ago, they use an algorithm system to reach the conclusion of system failure or personal failure that is quite impressive.  At least I was impressed.

How was the code called?  STAT phone?  (no.  a button on the wall was pushed.)  Is that the policy? (no. the Code Blue system has been deactivated and has been in “test mode” for the past 3 months due to it’s unreliability.)  Did the Code Blue Monitor sound an alarm? (yes) Was the operator on duty aware of this?  (yes, she was told to ignore the Code Blue system and rely soley on the STAT phone). How are nurses, doctors, and other care providers on the floors made aware not to use the Code Blue system?  (by daily memos to all employees and by daily overhead announcements at the change of each shift.)  Can this be documented?  (yes)  BINGO SYSTEM FAILURE.

Next step.  Now what do we do about it?  Unfortunately there is no algorithm for that one!

A new Code Blue system will cost at least $500,000.00.  Some suggesting replacing ours isn’t an option.  Other’s suggested not replacing it wasn’t an option.  One employee asked if the outcome had been different (if the child had not lived … thank heaven that it did) would that have changed the opinion of the group suggesting that replacing the system wasn’t an option.  A show of hands indicated it would have changed nearly two thirds fo those opinions.  The question was then asked, what is a baby worth in compariso to a $500,000.00 system that is reliable?  One jolly fellow yelled “Priceless” which eased the tension.  A new system is to be found and installed within the next several months.

In the meanwhile, my poor co-worker is so relieved  she was not singled out for disciplinary action, and the rest of us are sighing with relief that we weren’t the ones caught in the cross fire.  Had the conclusion indicated personal failure, my presence at this meeting was requested to determine if I would have handled it differently had I been the one on shift.  I’m so glad that it  never came to that because I most likely would have responded to the Code Blue Monitor regardless of the fact it may or may not be working correctly, and then called the floor to determine if it was a true or false alarm.  That’s just me.  I’d rather get the ball rolling and have everyone running to help erroneously rather than risk anyone’s life.  You can always cancel a code a few seconds into it, but you can never get those seconds back if someone’s life is actually in danger.  In other words, I would have implicated my poor co-worker as being at fault …. not because I don’t like her. I absolutely do like her!  It’s just that I’m such an old fuddy duddy and have been working at this job for so long I wouldn’t have taken any chances at all.

Which makes me wonder if maybe this old fuddy duddy needs to start thinking about early retirement?  My thought processes still lead to keep things like our old rolodex, just in case the computer system fails.  To follow all the old rules and the new ones too just in case.  To keep all our paperwork for 7 years (again jut in case).  I have no trouble learning the new computer systems, or monitoring all the new alarm systems, or even building digital data bases within them… but I also have hard copies of every single thing and in the back of my mind, continue to retain all the old protocols and procedures in case of  system failure.  (I even asked to keep my old IBM Selectric typewriter so I can retype old rolodex cards with all the physicians information on them to keep the rolodex fresh and clean looking).

Paradox here?   Am I creating unnecessary drama?  Another something to think about.

Log in to write a note
September 15, 2018

I don’t think that you’re creating unnecessary drama. I work as a business analyst, professionally, and we’re trained to recommend streamlining procedures. However, there is nothing wrong with keeping a hard copy of something, and referring to it, in case something goes wrong.