Dear Baby Bean #4

Normal
0

false
false
false

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

Week #4

10/24/11 

Dear Baby Bean,

 You’re a girl! At least that’s what we saw on the ultrasound on Friday. I had a feeling that you would be a girl. But don’t worry; I’m not a “pink” person. Lovely color and all that, but I know from experience that whether I encourage you to be a girly girl or a tomboy, you’ll be what you want. My own mom dressed me in tomboyish clothes, bought me dinosaurs and cars and I still wanted the frilly dresses and Barbie dolls. Sometimes I think your grandma still wonders how she had such a girly daughter when things like dolls and dresses were never her cup of tea.

You’re almost a whole pound now and growing a little bit faster than average, so maybe we’ll get lucky and meet you a few days early. You’re 21 weeks and 1 day, but you measured about 5 days further at the ultrasound. They say that first babies are usually late, but I was two weeks early, so you might be too. I think it would be especially cool if you came on February 29th, Leap Day. Then you’d only have a birthday every four years. Not that we wouldn’t celebrate every year. I just think it’d be an awesome birthday to have. It doesn’t seem that very many people agree with me though. Then again, I always liked to be a little different.

I haven’t gotten much into buying baby stuff just yet. I have a few bibs that I made when I told Daddy that we were going to have a baby. I also have a stuffed bear and a super soft blanket that I bought quite a long time ago when I worked at The Gap. I was usually in the Kids/Baby half of the store and I couldn’t resist how soft it was, even though back then I wasn’t planning on having kids for quite some time.

Your dad is excited about having a girl, even though he claimed that you were going to be a boy. I think he only said that to be difficult. He knows that just because you’re a girl doesn’t mean you won’t want to learn to play baseball or fix a car or play the guitar. I must say, you’re turning into quite a bouncy little thing. I was going through my shoes earlier and you gave me quite a kick. And at the doctor’s office you wriggled away from the Doppler when she was trying to get your heartbeat.

You already have some generous friends. Our friends/neighbors, Dan and Katie, have a little girl named Claire who’s almost 2 and she was generous enough to give you her old swing and bouncy seat. She wasn’t too keen on giving up her Bumbo chair though. Hopefully she’ll change her mind.

Love,

Mommy

Log in to write a note
October 26, 2011

guitar, piano, something musical is a must 🙂 drums maybe? the world needs more girl drummers…

October 26, 2011

Haha, I totally wanted to play the guitar when I was a teenager! And I wanted to play baseball, not softball, but good ole American baseball 😛

October 29, 2011

RYN: how massive is massive? your country going to war massive? A world economic recession massive? an increasing prison population massive? I hope that massive thing that changes everything is the global protest after TVP movie is shown.