10/14/1994

Today is my 24th birthday. Yeah, happy birthday to me. Ames never called, so I guess that’s a "no go". Damn. I really wanted that job, almost had my heart set on it. I have to admit that I am VERY disappointed. Enough to cry my eyes out. I told K about my feelings last night, and he said I could do whatever I felt was necessary to "fight" it, even if I felt I had to stop working for now. I really don’t think that will solve anything–so I’m not doing anything "rash" right now. I think when my husband gets home I’m gonna have him drive me to Ames so I can find out one way or another.

I drove myself to Ames, (it was kind of bad, because I had had a beer). I was told that all the references hadn’t been checked out, so they would contact me tomorrow. Dad called me to wish me a happy B-day, and let me know he was sending a card out today. It meant alot to me that he called, because I know he cares. Time is bringing us closer together–and I am grateful for a 2nd chance at a relationship with him.

Just got back, K took me out for a birthday dinner, and it was nice, just the 2 of us. Today has been pretty good, I just have to come to terms with the fact that I am getting older. K is sitting on the hopper, taking a shit, and watching what we recorded on the camcorder.

Log in to write a note