WHAT MARRIAGE MEANS TO ME

Marriage, Marriage, what it means to me

A promise to live, happily

But promises are broken, they always have been

Why stake my life, on a single man?

Men have always hurt me, men have done me bad

Men have made me cry, and men have made me sad

But there’s one man, who treats me fine,

Who loves me his, and loves me mine

Who put his heart into my hands

Who makes me feel, really grand

Grand as a person, grand as a thought

Grand, even thought, I have not;

Been completely honest, been completely there

Sometimes made him feel as if I didn’t care

I do, I do, but it’s hard to trust

It’s hard to feel like my heart won’t bust

Like if you go, I’ll hurt and cry

and ask myself why the hell why

Did another man hurt me?

Did another man leave?

Did another man make me fret and grieve?

and lose my heart to a dream?

A dream of closeness, a dream of trust

A dream that nothing could come between us

Us in the future, us in the past

Us in the present was supposed to last

If I can’t trust, I can’t give

So I try my hardest to live

In a phase of reality, in "normalcy" for me

But compared to other people, I can see

I’m not normal in important ways

I live my life in a kind of "daze"

A daze from the from the past, that controls my mind

But if you ask me, I am fine

Because for me, this is the absolute norm

It’s my fault, every little thing

So why should I wear this golden ring?

 

Log in to write a note