Just A Little Less Stress

So, Wednesday I had this massive English test, right? I’m a zombie the entire day but when I sat down to take the test, something happened: I felt empowered. I wrote a well-structured, two and a half page essay on the movie On The Waterfront. I feel pretty good about it. Yesterday and today, I had my math tests, which proved to be much less of a hoot that everyone was making it out to be. I found that the questions were understandable and quite simple.

Today was Casual Clothes Day at school. I painted my nails black and picked out my outfit the night before so I wouldn’t be scrambling around in the morning like a chicken with it’s head chopped off. You’re welcome for that lovely image. I ended up wearing a pair of bootcut jeans, a dark pink sweater that just hangs off the shoulders, and my all-time favorite black, high-top Converse. I even wore my hair down. I got a lot of compliments on the curls. It’s times like that when I truly love my hair. Georgia told me that the curls bounce when I walk.

I stood up for someone today. I stood up to a teacher for a friend. When I did, it was like an outer-body experience. My vision kind of blurred and I could feel my face and especially my ears on fire. The class and the teacher were in total shock; I’m usually quite soft-spoken in class and rarely share my point of view. I’m proud of myself but I still feel my ears heat up when I think about it.

I worked with soft pastels in VisCom today. I had to finish a book cover concept page that’d I’d drawn up. It was a snowy city street on a Winter’s night. I took the pastels and a bunch of q-tips and had at it. It turned out with a smoky, dream-like kind of look that I’m very happy with. I also did some work with glitter. Honestly, that stuff gets everywhere!

So, I get home, thinking I have a babysitting job tonight. As it turns out, the job isn’t until tomorrow night! Wow! I guess it’s for the better; I need to go to the library and get some childrens’ books to read aloud to them. I should say "to her"; the daughter is 8 but the son is only 7 months! This is the first time I’ve ever had to take care of a child that young.

Love always,

Marissa

Log in to write a note