March 6th, 2021

I tell you, I really did -not- want to go in last night.

I briefly entertained the notion of just calling in.  In retrospect, I’m glad that I didn’t, because I made -TRIPLE- what I made on Friday night.

Solo man in a Saturday night lounge has that potential.

It’s worth noting that this coming week has the exact same setup, so I’ll brace for it.

 

That said – what I went through to -get- that 300% bump on Friday night’s take was ouchie. By the time the shift was done, my back was very annoyed with me, as was most of the rest of the bod.

 

The first half of the shift was probably the most difficult as I mentally fought with myself over being there in the first place, and struggled to keep higher demand items stocked whenever I had a 2-3 minute break in the flow of people, which was infrequent at best. Once it became too steady to concentrate on that, I just focused on knocking down the lines as they showed up. There’s something about that focus that helps the rest of it go.

 

(As a point of fairness here – I also had a song looping in my head pretty intently – and that helped quite a bit honestly.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q7KuW_qsO9I

Watch if you like. Some amazing Swedish metal I discovered last year. Most of their stuff is in English, but -this- one is in Swedish, so don’t worry about being able to understand it if you don’t want to. It’s just good – and it kept me going last night.)

 

I got my philosophy lecture knocked out over breaks, and noted the score on my programming exam from Thursday night. (Not amazing at all – but I at least passed it – and I can take notes to do better next time.)

 

We’re still breaking in our new night supervisor. I think she has some promise, honestly, but is still learning what’s helping and what’s just getting in the way. Credit goes to her though for at least atempting to tell the difference. Not everyone does that. (I’m sure there’s a certain amount of just staying the heck out of my way. I can be a bit of a dervish behind the bar.)

 

Had a really nice dude in a ball cap drinking Jamesons on the rocks, that was tipping me $5 every time. Gods, you love folks like that. He probably contributed $40-$50 to my take all by himself. Thank you, come again!

 

Anyway though – the crowd finally started dying off after my last break, and I was able to get closing stuff done in good time and was only about 15 minutes late to clock out at the end of it all. Pocket full of money and a sore back, but too tired to worry about much else. something to be said for that I suppose.

 

Take it easy, folks.

 

 

Log in to write a note