May 27th, 2018

Sunday night – night of quiet casual conversation and … aw hell it’s a holiday weekend, isn’t it.

This thought crosses my mind as I enter the bar and see the band set up from the weekend still on the stage.  I head back to the calender and confirm that yep – we’ve got a band in house on Sunday night too.  So much for dodging that bullet.

The nice part about it though was that I was the only barkeep and Charon was going to ride shotgun with me.

The downside is that she couldn’t do it horribly long, because Mack up and quit on us.  Goddammit.  -sigh-  One good bar back down the drain to go work for a fast foodery.  Imagine that scene in the original Bill n’ Ted where Napoleon is lying in the bowling lane swearing repeatedly in French.  That was my head hearing this news.

Ah well.  Nothing to do but deal with it, right?  I tended bar.  The old band (referring to their age, not their status) played, and while they were tolerable, they played at least three songs on my ‘Bartender’s List of Forbidden Songs’ during their first set, which cost them a gold star with me, but they were otherwise all right.

The crowd, such as it was, wasn’t  a crush, and I made good money – bringing some light to an unpleasant situation.

 

Closing observations :

  • If they’re going to go to the trouble to book a band for Sunday night, they could at least book one that draws people.
  • I know it’s Memorial Day weekend and all that, and I totally respect what the holiday is about, but I still find myself cringing at that ‘Proud to be an American’ song every time I hear it.  The sentiment is fine, but it still sounds like so much commercialized patriotic pandering to me.
  • Repeating this for the slow folks in the crowd : I am not Anti-American. I am not Anti-Soldier. I’m Anti-Songs-That-People-Will-Use-as-an-Excuse-to-Call-You-Unpatriotic-if-You-Dare-to-Not-Like-Them.

 

Next up : Thursday night

Next up : Thursday night

Log in to write a note