Holding Pattern

I am SO ready to get back to work.  These past 7 weeks have felt like when your are visiting relatives and your flight leaves at 3:00, afraid to start anything you might enjoy so you just sort of dawdle and pace.

Mentally it has been daunting.  My unemployment funds are caught in adjudication hell and nothing has paid.  Thank goodness it isn’t like I need the money to eat. On the fiscal front we are fine, though my latest money hell is trying to put together a wardrobe for work when most of my closet is jeans, hiking boots and tshirts.  Mail order is dicey.  Currently I have a box of 6 pairs of shoes inbound.  Not that I am Imelda, I now wear a men’s 12 shoe and I ordered 6 pairs hoping that one pair will fit my orthotics and not look like swim fins.

Weekend Covid projects continue.  Backyard is more than half done. FuzzyMan built a workbench in the garage and put up insulation wallboard.  I learned how to take down AND install a ceiling fan all by myself. I am very impressed, though I had to ask what to attach the blue wire to. I believe I have been successful as the house has not burnt down.

For personal self improvement I have been learning to type for the first time EVER.  Unwinding bad muscle memory to learn correct keyboarding is painful. It is so temping to reward myself with a highball, but then it ruins my lunch. I have also been brushing up on my excel skills.  Art is hanging in the background like a bad headache.

I desperately need a hair cut. I was about 2 months overdue when things got shut down.  Currently I have it tumbleweed styled with a bunch of hair ties and clips.  These break or shoot out at random so safety goggles might not be a bad idea.  Luckily the wind is gusting at 45 MPH here today, so the probability of getting blinded by flying hair accessories is diminished. Humidity is 6% today.  I swear if I had a hot tub I would fill it up with lotion.

Life in the quarantine terrarium is slow.  Captured a huge dust mastodon today. Resisted posting it  social media.

Log in to write a note