Thirteen

First, thank you for the notes on my previous entry. I know that things may not have turned out differently, but it was something that had been on my mind a lot.

Yesterday I left work early to pick up my newest night time partner.

I was diagnosed a couple weeks ago with moderate sleep apnea during a home sleep study.  After fighting with my insurance company I was able to pick up my CPAP machine yesterday.

It’s going to be a huge adjustment getting use to that thing.  I didn’t like the air blowing in my face or having that mask strapped to my face.  Hopefully, it won’t take long to get adjusted to it and it actually helps me sleep.

I felt like there wasn’t a whole lot of sleep going on last night because I either couldn’t get comfortable or I kept adjusting the mask.

I’m really hoping tonight will go better (since I’m exhausted) and I’ll have an easy restful sleep.  Everyone I’ve talked to said they sleep so much better with their machine and that once I get used to it I won’t ever want to sleep without it again. I hope that ends up being true and that it helps with my PAH.

 

Log in to write a note
February 13, 2018

I hope it works for you. I wonder if any one has any suggestions for how to get used to it.

February 14, 2018

Thanks! Last night I ended up with it off more than on. Somehow I removed it in my sleep twice – there’s enough velcro and magnets that it shouldn’t have been that easy to remove.

February 13, 2018

i know many with a CPAP and you will be amazed at how you feel from just after one use!!

February 13, 2018

P.S. There are many different types of machines.. dont settle on one if you dont like it. My friend has one thats not a full mask but with just a piece that goes into the nose like an oxygen machine.

February 14, 2018

Last night wasn’t bad except I woke up twice and it laying on the bed beside me.  With the magnets and Velcro I’m not entirely sure how I managed that one. Ended up only wearing it for 4 hours so this may take a while.  I have to try the mask for a week before I can try another one.