04/22/2011

I’ve lost count how many times I’ve come here in the last few weeks to write and then froze when facing the blank screen. I’m sure that I’ve forgotten most of what I was going to talk about so I won’t even try to recreate any of those thoughts.

So about yesterday which overall turned out to be a fairly crappy day or at least the afternoon was crappy. I was closing at work so didn’t have to be in until 1:45 pm and was getting ready to head out and went to clean my glasses and they simply snapped in half. That pair was 2 years old so there is no place that would just make a new pair off the prescription. Plus my old, supposed backup pair is like 4 years old and when I put them on it was worse than not having glasses on.

So guess how I’m going to spend at least a portion of today, my day off? I’m just waiting for lens crafters to open. At least for driving I do have my prescription sunglasses, which was real fun driving home last night. Needless to say I had Sunglasses at night stuck in my head.

Then once at work, which was deadly and boringly slow, my mom called with news of her doctors appointment. Last week she had a small growth removed from right below her eye and yesterday was the follow up. Well the test result came back that it was cancerous. So now I’m going with her on Monday to see the oncologist. The real worry here is that it will come back as the same type of cancer she had about 15 years ago. That time she got real lucky and was able to beat it. I say lucky in that the type only had a 5 year survival rate of like 5%.

On a lot lighter note, since I’m tired of writing depressing stuff, I’m loving the streaming on Netflix. I’ve been going through the complete series of Battlestar Galactic, the new version not the campy 70’s. I forgot how good it was and really hadn’t seen more than the first half of the first season before.

Well that’s all for now, have a great day and smile it makes your and someone elses day better.

Log in to write a note

I stepped on my favourite sunglasses when I wore prescriptions once, I know the feeling! Sunglasses at Night = such a good song!

July 13, 2011

Breaking glasses suck. I actually sat on mine once and cried. I hope all went well with your mom. Post and let us know! I did the free trial thing with netflix and liked it but it wasn’t worth it to me because I didn’t use it as much as I thought I would. Too many other things on TV for me that I like so I didn’t get to use it that often.