Things I learned I think.

The first 2 verses of Genesis are like a paragraph made to make the hearer excited about what is to come in the story, giving a bit of the story away.

Then in verse 3, it backtracks in the story and goes to the Very Beginning: light. I was struck, after a pondering for a few minutes why He made light there, but then separately made the sun and moon on day 4. And then I had an epiphany! Light is the Big Bang. Awesome.

I wonder what God’s image is? Since we are created in it. And then I wonder if he ever created any other creatures in His image on other planets? I wouldn’t say He didn’t…

He blesses the fish and animals, saying to them be fruitful and multiply. He did this to us too. Fish and animals don’t really choose to be fruitful and multiply. Is a blessing just something that is birthed into us? A basic element of what we are made of?

Log in to write a note

I think that if you look at it symbolically, Genesis isn’t entirely off…. I have wondered about all the other planets as well! Somehow, I think it’s more likely we’ve created God after our own image rather than the opposite.

November 4, 2008

I love to study the bible and am always excited when I learn something new. Funny thing is, you can read a passage & learn something, then the next time you reread the passage it can mean something else to you. The bible does have meanings underneath meanings and foreshaddows of things to come.

November 4, 2008

I am leaving notes to tell all ODers who do not already know that Rfaber passed away. We are leaving farewell notes on RfaberÂ’s diary for his family. Thank you.

RYN: Hi Jon. My sister died on February 2nd. She and my Mom were heading out to have lunch (my sister was driving) and she had a heart attack. My Mom had to grab the steering wheel and pull the car over to the side of the road and call 911. She flagged down a car and the woman driving happened to be a nurse (who also called 911 because as it turned out my Mom had accidentally not called 911). TheEMT’s came quickly and they tried to revive her twice. They would get a slight pulse and then nothing. She was taken to the ER where they worked on her for almost two hours, then pronounced her dead. It was quite a shock to everyone. My sister was also the caregiver for my Mom, so it sent us all into a bit of a tailspin. Things are much better now, Mom has a new caregiver and I’ve rearranged my schedule so I can spend all day Monday and all day Saturday with my Mom. My brother spends Sunday with Mom and then the caregiver is there Tuesday through Friday. My niece has moved into my Mom’s home, so there’s someone there in the evening. Thanks for noting. Hope all is well with you.