I Want To See You

 I want to see you fall asleep each night.

I want to see you the nights you feel like staying awake and splitting a cheap bottle of wine with me, theorizing life and love, questioning the pursuit of happiness, and whether or not happiness truly exists at all. I want to see you the nights you are straining to keep your eyes focused clear ahead on your work, until the moment you eventually give in and fall fast asleep.

I want to see you wake up every morning.

I want to see you pull the covers back the mornings you can’t wait to jump out of bed to take on the world. I want to see you crawl back under the covers the mornings you don’t want to see the light of day. I want to see you the mornings you hide your head under your pillow and question if what you are doing in life makes sense. I want to see you the mornings you are scared of losing yourself, and even the mornings you are scared you might be losing me. And I’ll hold you and tell you I’m yours and that I’m never going anywhere. I want to see you the mornings you stop to squeeze me tightly on your way out the door.

I want to see you follow your dreams.

I want to see you run after what you love without stopping to walk. I want to see you light up about your work and hopes and dreams in the same way that others do when they catch a glimpse of them for the first time. I want to see your heart shine through each piece of work that you pour your sweat and tears into. I want to see these same tears fall from your face when the impact of your work is loudly proclaimed and when they’re not. I want to see you find your own way to silently rejoice. I want to see you reach for my hand, when you feel you have nowhere else to reach. And I will grab it and never let go.

I want to see you make a difference in this cruel and beautiful world, because I know that you can. And I know that you will.

I want to see you as the one I fell in love with.

But most of all, I want you to see how much you have helped me see.

Juls
Live more, Love more, Laugh more

Log in to write a note
September 23, 2013

Love this!