Byron/Nimbin roadtrip (pics)

I went on my roadtrip with my friend Theresa on Wednesday.  We went to Byron Bay.  It was so nice to be back there, since I went there back in December 2012 by myself.  We ended up having so much fun that we decided to crash the night, using wotif to find the cheapest hotel, which wasn’t all that cheap, but hey you only live once, as they say.

This time I got to see the lighthouse!  It was so cool up there.  They told me that if it was Winter, I could sometimes see whales.  OMG that would be SO cool!!  Pity it’s Summer here.  But the weather was awesome.  We went to the beach and into the surf, and the temperature of the water was just sooooo perfect!  There was a pretty strong rip and the waves were a bit rough.  I got dumped once by a big wave haha.  That always seems to happen to me lol,  Worst feeling getting water up the nose.

I got pretty sunburnt on the spots my sunscreen missed haha.  We ended up seeing this movie at the oldschool cinema in Byron.  We sat in the front row, or rather layed down because it was just cushions and mattresses.  It was like the coolest thing ever!  And the movie as well, "Kill Your Darlings" was such an eye-opener.  It was a gay film starring Daniel Radcliffe that apparently came out late last year.  I was captivated by it and texted my landlord that he HAD to download it!  So good!  It was Theresa’s idea to see that movie as well, so I had nothing to do with it.

After the movie, we had a yummy burger dinner and then we asked at the adjoining backpackers if we could see what the rooms were like, because we were curious.  The first guy said we couldn’t really because there were people in the rooms, but this other guy was like ‘Yeah sure!’ and showed us ALL around the complex, including the rooms and the TEEPEE’s (I was stunned it had teepee options to stay in), and the pool, and he told us all about some of the people who stay there and one guy who has lived there for 5 years.  It was very cool of him to do so, and it looks like a pretty happening backpackers.  Pretty cool for $40 a night.  Theresa reckons she wouldn’t be able to do it though – she needs her own space haha.

We went back to the hotel and pretty much showered and crashed.  Theresa talked so much.  I think I fell asleep when she was in the shower, but when she came out it must’ve woken me up, and I spent the next three hours or so talking to her.  Man that chick can talk! 
Our plan was to go to Nimbin the next day.  I was so excited because I had never been to Nimbin before! 

After another long drive, we got to Nimbin and literally within 30 seconds on the main street, somebody asked us if we wanted to buy some weed lol!  Hilarious!  It was such an eye-opening experience for me.  I counted seven different times that people tried to sell us weed, and one guy even offered ACID LOL!  One of the sellers was this hippee young chick, and if I was a stoner, I totally would have bought some from her!  She was so cool and friendly.  The other guys were just a little creepy haha.

What I found stunning was when Theresa and I were eating some lunch in the outside area of one of the cafes.  There was an elderly hippee lady (lets face it, they are ALL hippees) just casually puffing away on a joint.  In broad daylight!
Apparently the cafe actually encourages their patrons to smoke weed in the back tables area.  It’s not like it’s hidden or anything.
I did see two cops chatting to two different dealers, but it didn’t look like there was any trouble at all.
There was a sign at the museum telling people not to buy or sell drugs in their complex, as the police check there most often.  I guess that’s sensible.  It just amazed me that for something illegal, it seemed like it was totally a normal thing to do any time of any day in Nimbin.  I mean, everyone knows this, but to actually witness it was a pretty cool experience.
I bought a few badges to add to my bag, and Theresa bought a sarong.  We both had a snack and I had some ‘hemp strawberry cheesecake and hemp icecream’ lol.  I’m honestly not sure if it was just hte placebo effect or not, but around a half hour later or something, I felt a similar sensation to what I feel after I’m tipsy because I’ve had a few drinks.  I actually don’t really know the difference between hemp and pot.  One of the surrounding shops sold Hemp Protein Powder.  I had to wonder if it actually did anything haha.

We went and checked out a nearby candle-making factory that Theresa wanted to go to.  I ended up buying a 100 hr rainbow candle.  It looked pretty cool 🙂

We got back to Brisbane and ate at a Korean restaurant, which was pretty yummy.  I’ll leave a few pics I took 🙂

Hotel selfie.  Theresa looks naked, but she’s not haha.

View from outside the lighthouse


Most easterly point of Australia just down there, but it was SO hot we didn’t go down there.  Another time 🙂

In Nimbin.  Theresa signed the guest book in the cafe haha.

Theresa took a sneaky pic of the lady smoking a joint at the cafe.  There was a dog under the table who we were pretty sure was stoned too haha.

I bought one of these rainbow ones.  It’s a fair bit bigger than it looks here :)<br/>

I wished one of these massive ones was in rainbow, but unfortunately no 😛


 

That’s all the pics I got.  What a lovely short getaway!

Log in to write a note
January 19, 2014

Glad you had fun! x

January 21, 2014

Sounds like a great time!