God Intervened…..

I wrote a long, scathing entry a few days ago but I can’t find it so I guess it didn’t save. That’s probably good. It’s title was “Not A Very Christian Entry” and it certainly wasn’t! I was so frustrated with Don’s son because he hadn’t visited, called or even sent a text to his father since he went to the hospital in October. Don has always been very close to Casey and it was hurting him terribly. Casey has been coddled all his life and it continues even though he is 30 years old. Also when Casey and his family visit us, Don always gives him money, buys he and his family (not us) lunch because Casey won’t eat normal home cooked food, and then fills their car with gasoline before they leave. Casey knew that wasn’t going to happen while his Dad was in the hospital and nursing home because I wouldn’t do it. That explains why he didn’t come to see his Dad but I’m not understanding why he couldn’t at least call or text. There was so much to be done around the house and yard to prepare for winter and only Don or Casey knew how to do a lot of it. But Casey never offered or showed up to do any of it. My grandson and Don’s daughter did all that we could, the best that we could. Don’s disabled brother came all the way from Sedgwick county to get Don’s boat ready for winter and put a cover on our air conditioner. He also told me that Don was giving the boat to Casey!

Anyway, Casey avenged himself a little on Christmas day, I guess. Don told me just before we went to bed that Casey and family were coming the next day for Christmas. Of course, the first unchristian thought was “Of course they are, Don is home now and it’s Christmas, there will be more cash than usual for them.” Before they were expected, Don got really sick.  I thought I was going to have to take him back to the ER again. He agreed with me that we didn’t need company, especially 3 little ones, ages 6 months to 6 years. So I called and told Casey what was going on. I was curious what he would say if I asked him if he wanted me to bring their gifts. Of course, he did! So I got my grandson to sit with Don while I drove to give Casey their cash gifts. Needless to say, I was seething all the way there!

However, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that Casey had actually made his father a Christmas gift, a cross made out of railroad spikes that he had gotten here at our house. That’s the first time that I can remember getting a gift from them. But it was a nice gesture and I hope he continues to show a little love and respect for his father! And I am glad that God made me see that I am not to judge others, that’s His job!!

 

Log in to write a note
December 26, 2018

Oh, man! I thought Casey had outgrown all that stuff when I got married. Sorry to say not much has changed.  Maybe you should sell Dan’s boat, and then tell Casey that you didn’t know that he had planned that because he never told you. Hee hee hee.  I’m evil. You never heard that from me.  😈

December 27, 2018

****HUGS****

🙁

December 28, 2018

It’s very frustrating when you see people you love hurt.  You are probably a lot more  charitable than I would be.  Hope both of you can get back on your feet soon.

June 10, 2019

It would be hard to hold it all in, but I know you are right.  Hope that he comes around for his Dad’s sake.  Think of you often.  We never did manage to meet and now  that I’m in Arizona it isn’t likely  Many of you that have been internet friends for years are very close to my heart.