First Entry . . .

So this is my first entry here at OD.  I actually had another OD account years ago, but *shrugs* I stopped posting and now I can’t find it anymore.  I actually have accounts through livejournal and blogger as well, but I only use the lj one for posting to several communities I’m involved in and the blogger one is for keeping friends up to date and just a little ranting.  But as I’m about to start ranting and raving about some of the people who read those….I needed a new one as well 🙂

A little about me to give you some background — I’m a college senior and I’ll graduate in December.  In order to make the finances easier, I’m also living at home.  The deal my parents and I made when I started college was that each year I’d take out the federal loan max and they would take care of whatever that didn’t cover, plus the interest of the loans while I was in school.  By virtue of that deal, it’s cheaper for my parents if I live at home instead of the dorms and in the long run it’s better for me too.  It allowed my parents to chip in to help me buy a car for my big Christmas present in ’05.  Essentially, instead of my paying $300/month to park downtown, my parents are paying that and I’m making car payments of $300/month.  I bought a 2006 Ford Focus and it’s my car (my name’s even on the title, along with my dad’s!).  When I leave home for good after graduation, it’s my car (of course, that comes with gas, insurance, and any major repair costs). So, right now I pretty much pay for the routine maintenance on my car, along with food while I’m down on campus and other misc. items.  I’m the oldest of three kids (though there was a time when I considered my two younger brothers as less than human :-P)  I moved around a lot as a child and it obviously left it’s mark.  I was also diagnosed with ADD – inattentive type last October and today got the prescription for medication #6 since then.  That’s right – since October I’ve tried five other medications to deal with my ADD.  We’ll see how this one goes.

I’m an avid fanfiction reader and read across several fandoms (Harry Potter, West Wing, JAG, House, and *NSYNC *I stopped for awhile, but I got in touch with my teenybopper roots recently heh*)  I’ve written some Harry Potter and West Wing stuff, but if I’m being honest I didn’t like most of it. Once upon a time I did write a few *NSYNC stories, but when I look back at them now I cringe hehe.  I did start one long Harry Potter story that wasn’t half bad, but I’ve gotten stuck and don’t know if I’ll finish it.  Snape managed to stick his head into the story and after HBP came out, the Snape in my head got thrown out of whack…and I still havent managed to get it back!  I’ve been toying with starting a Justin Timberlake story, but I haven’t decided for sure if I want to.  The idea simmering in my head is one I like and would read myself, but I don’t know if I have the kind of time to put into it.  I’d also like to finish it if I start writing it.  In terms of writing longer stories, I’ve never finished a single one.

As I write this, I’m actually going back and forth between Internet Explorer and my email client. It finally got to the point where I needed to clean it out :-P.  Now I just need to go to gmail and clean out the actual email 😛  In under an hour I’m going to watch the Chicago Cubs play the Milwaukee Brewers on tv. GO CUBS!  While I do that, I’m going to be searching the college’s card catalog system so that I can make my trip to the state historical society tomorrow morning take as little time as possible.  I’ve already spent 5 hours on the project!  I’ll talk about that project later, I’m sure.  For now, I’m headed off to finish cleaning out my email.

 

Log in to write a note