Update on the Blizzard

The snow’s seriously coming down now.  We actually got snow all day, which we weren’t supposed to.  For the morning until about noon or 1pm, it was either lake enhanced or lake effect snow (I’m not sure which, to tell you the truth – but given the weather I wouldn’t be surprised if it was actual lake effect snow). With that, the weather wasn’t great.  About 12:30, the university made the decision to cancel all classes starting at 3:00 and would make an announcement regarding classes tomorrow around 5pm. When I left campus about 2:00, it was just ugly outside. Snow was coming down at a pretty good clip (though probably not even 1"/hour) and the wind was picking up. Then the main event started to move in and things have just gotten ugly.  Still looks like we’re going to end up with near to 18 inches when all is said and done, not that it’ll be easy to measure it with the wind blowing it everywhere.  However, the local tv station has a very reliable snowfall forecast model that’s predicting nearly 23-24 inches of snow for me!! Now I’m not sure that’s right, but it honestly wouldn’t surprise me either at this point.  The snow’s fluffier than expected too, so it’s blowing everywhere – there are already drifts 12"-18" high and we haven’t even gotten the bulk of our snow yet.  This storm is going to shatter records all over this area!  I took a little bit of video around 4:15 of the view outside of my apartment but within my apartment complex – it’s up on youtube – 2/1/11 Blizzard Video (opens in new window)

Thankfully, my university has cancelled all classes for tomorrow already 🙂  So I get a snow day – I’ll stay warm in my apartment and watch the insanity outside. The university will be making an announcement by 6pm tomorrow regarding university status for Thursday…

"Life is measured not by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."

free online journal

 

 

Log in to write a note
February 1, 2011

Watching the news in California about your expected record snowfalls. Stay safe and warm and hope you don’t have to worry about going to school. I heard it’s the first time Chicago schools had cancelled classes since 1999??

February 2, 2011

Nice video, stay warm

I wish that they would cancel things here. Most optional events are cancelled. NEVER has our school been closed. After one major storm, the superintendent said that if anything else happened like it,she would not make us come in. Seeing will be believing.