What a busy time!

I am so terrible these days at writing in a journal. Truth is I’ve been terrible at a lot of gospel related things lately, but it’s time to change that. Especially now – it’s time to change that. But first to other things. 

I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m attending Institute this semester. I LOVE Institute and wish I’d gone and made a better effort to attend earlier than this semester. It’s been a great experience for me. But I can’t go back and change that, or knock myself in the head and drag myself to Institute so I have to move forward and enjoy what little time of Institute I have left. Our teacher is out of town this next week, so our next Institute class is in two weeks and I think that’s our last class of the semester before we go bowling. 

This week we also had problems in town (and really in the whole area) with flooding. Most places saw anywhere from 3-7 inches of rain in a 48 hour period, with much of it leading not just to river flooding, but also flash flooding. Miraculously, my apartment stayed dry and I didn’t have any issues. But I was concerned that I might, with as much as it rained. The water is starting to recede here in town (though it’s still rising in other parts of the area). There is a possibility that we could get more than an inch of rain later Tuesday into Wednesday, which is exactly what we don’t need at this point. It’s strange timing too, as we’ve spent most of the last year in a strong drought. But that’s gone now. Between the normal winter and wet spring, we’ve finally caught up on the precipitation deficit.

Another reason I’m grateful I didn’t end up with water in my apartment is that I’ve simply got enough going on right now. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a law student and this is my last semester. Graduation is now in less than five weeks (and I really can’t believe that!). My last day of class is a week from tomorrow. So I still have the regular daily preparation for class, in addition to studying for exams. My first exam is May 3rd, so it’s coming up fast! My last exam is May 14th, after which I’ll spend 5 days cleaning my apartment. My bar prep class (class to study for the bar exam in July) begins Monday May 20th. Graduation is Saturday May 25th and I’ll have family down for that so my apartment will need to be clean (which it’s not currently).  Come the middle of July I’ll also be moving back up to my parents while I look for a job. The bar exam is the 30th and 31st of July. And that’s just school related stuff!

Next Saturday I’m driving about 40 minutes to have lunch with a friend from high school that I haven’t seen in a few years. It was supposed to be last week but she unexpectedly got called into work. We actually tried to get together back in November but I had to cancel. So we’re going out to lunch by the mall and then I’m going to do a little shopping and maybe get my oil changed (there’s no place good in this dinky town my law school is in).

The other major thing going on at the moment is the special stake conference being held in two weeks up at the stake center. Now we just had our spring stake conference back in early March. It was the stake conference that happens every two years by broadcast. The special stake conference was announced in sacrament meeting last Sunday and it was also announced that an apostle would be coming. At that point, it was unknown which apostle would be coming. Throughout sacrament meeting and then in my Sunday school class, I received promptings that I needed to be spiritually prepared (and attend) that special stake conference. So that’s what I’ve been doing this week. I’ve made a concerted effort to read my scriptures and say my prayers this week and it’s made such a difference in my life this week, especially as I was concerned about the possibility water in my apartment. Today in sacrament meeting, it was announced that the apostle coming would be Elder Russell M. Nelson. Interestingly, the stake hasn’t has an apostle visit in 22 years apparently. I’m really looking forward to attending, despite having to get up quite a bit earlier than I normally do, even during the week. From everything that’s been announced in sacrament meeting, it sounds like it’s just my stake, so it’s a little head scratching as to why an apostle would be coming out here to the Midwest. In any case, I intend to take full advantage of this wonderful opportunity and be prepared to hear what he has to say! 

 

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

 

how to help the national breast cancer foundation.

 

free online journal

 

 

is wonderful opportunity and be prepared to hear what he has to say!

 

 

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

 

how to help the national breast cancer foundation.

 

free online journal

 

 

Log in to write a note
April 24, 2013

That’s so cool that Elder Nelson is coming to visit your stake! If it’s the same reason as here, the apostles always visit around the world. But it takes forever since there’s only 12 of them. lol. We had Elder Scott in our stake. It was SO perfect because he spoke Spanish and CA has lots of Latino members (our stake has two Spanish wards).

April 24, 2013

Also, if you can, try to shake his hand!! I got to shake Elder Scott’s hand after the adult session of stake conference. It was awesome to meet him up close!