Worry and other things…

I’ve really been worried about a friend of mine.  Ever since Thursday, I’ve been getting the "there’s something wrong" vibe, but *sigh* there doesn’t seem to be much I can do about it.  I don’t live anywhere near her and calling is a problem in itself.  So I’m really left with IM and email, but she’s been staying offline and not really answering my emails (though she did answer one this morning…one that I had sent Thursday night.  I know she’s having issues, but dang it! I can’t help her if I don’t know what’s wrong.  Not to mention, she has serious health problems, so for all I know, she could be in the hospital when she goes for long spurts without getting online.  She’s really worrying me.  Last night she was online for a few minutes, but her typing was terrible.  Her typing doesn’t get that bad unless it’s 4am her time and she hasn’t slept yet. 

As for the other things mentioned in the title….

This first thing is a poem that was shared in the newsletter at church today.  I wanted to share it with all of you.  It’s called Blessed.

If you woke up this morning with more health than illness,
You are more blessed than the million who won’t survive the week.

If you have never experienced the danger of battle,
The loneliness of imprisonment,
The agony of torture or the pangs of starvation,
You are ahead of 20 million people around the world.

If you attend a church meeting without fear of harassment,
Arrest, torture, or death,
You are more blessed than almost three billion people in the world.

If you have food in your refrigerator,
Clothes on your back,
A roof over your heard and a place to sleep,
You are richer than 75% of this world.

If you have money in the bank, in your wallet,
And spare change in a dish somewhere,
You are among the top 8% of the world’s wealthy.

If your parents are still married and alive,
You are very rare, especially in the United States.

If you hold up your head with a smile on your face
And are truly thankful,
You are blessed because the majority can, but most do not.

If you can hold someone’s hand, hug them,
Or even touch them on the shoulder,
You are blessed because you can offer God’s healing to them.

If you can read this message,
You are more blessed than over two billion people in the world
Who cannot read anything at all.

You are so blessed in ways you may never even know.

Next thing – the weather has absolutely sucked.  We weren’t sure if we were going to make the family x-mas party yesterday as a winter storm was taking aim on the area.  However, we went and the precip didn’t change from rain to snow til after midnight.  However, the temperature fell in one heck of a hurry! I thought about going outside to take pictures of the ice on the trees, but it’s way too cold and it’s still snowing…in addition to a fierce wind. That’s the other problem – we have serious winds today.  Sustained winds of around 30mph with gusts as high as 50mph.  Needless to say, it’s a mess outside!

I’ll have pictures later I think 🙂  I need to figure out how to share all my grad pictures, in addition to the ones from the family x-mas party yesterday.  I have too many pics, so I don’t want to just post them all here….*Shrugs* I’ll figure it out.

The family x-mas party was great 🙂  It almost always is :-P.  I expected it to be a little more bittersweet, simply because of my grandmother’s health, but it really wasn’t.  It was a fun time 😛

Log in to write a note