My Angel and I

I read the work of Edgar Allan Poe, Annabelle Lee, and I tried to mimick his style of writing. I don’t think mine would ever be compared to his but it was worth writing, to me at least.

******

There once was an angel

Who lived in the sky

You may know this angel

Yes she fell in love with one who could die

This tale, only I can tell

The story of my angel and I

 

I was mortal and she immortal

A celestial and one who could die

But our love transcended life and death–

My angel and I

Love in its purest and truest form

An angel and one who could die

 

But there was a decree in heaven

Yes, the kingdom in the sky

This commandment would seek to threaten

The love of my angel and I

It was thus written:

None born of Earth could love a child of the sky

 

The Earth and the Heavens became jealous

Of my angel and I

And for this reason they took a petition

To the ruler in the sky

That he may judge the angel

And her lover who could die

 

And on that day of judgement

I was given wings to fly

Love doth maketh things happen

I was with my angel in the sky

Together we faced all of the heavens together

Hand in hand

My angel and I

 

She made a choice

She would lose her place in the sky

Immortality for mortality

To love and be loved

By one who could die

And thus was formed the greatest love story ever known

That of my angel and I

Log in to write a note