and than he was gone

tonight i got a missed call from my aunt down south. shes the one who takes care of my grand parents and after listening to the voicemail i knew something was wrong. all the voicemail said was to call her back as soon as i could but i knew the voice and could hear the tears being held back. i called for half an hour only getting a busy tone and when i finally got through all the worst case scenarios that had been running through my mind came true. my grandfather died. i know it was his time and that he had had a lot of bad health issues lately but its still very upsetting. e came by for a couple hours earlier and just held me as i cried. i miss him….i hadn’t seen him since thanksgiving and now i’ll never see him again. its sad to say but i’m glad i didn’t see him between then and now. my dad told me a couple weeks ago that granddad had gotten to the stage in his alzheimers where he didn’t remember a lot of people and in november he still knew who i was. i head down in the next day or so to be there with my grandma and help my aunt with everything. the worst part about this right now is that my dad and his family just went on their trip to spain a lil over a week ago and no one can get a hold of him….i’m worried that he won’t even know til its too late. this is all i can write for now…lord help me through the days and weeks to come.

Log in to write a note
August 19, 2009

I’m so sad for your loss… *hugs*