They Are Back – Up Close

There I sat; fat and happy watching the tube and I see out the window next to the TV a deer very close to the back porch/deck.

I have been keeping the Canon on a cabinet in the dining room with the zoom lens attached so I don’t have to run upstairs to my computer room/home office.

I really didn’t need the zoom lens today as you can see from the following photos. The lens is a 55-250mm. The photos were taken at the 55mm setting. The photos were taken through the kitchen, dining room and living room windows. The windows and storm windows are covered with a plastic film.

The buck is smaller than the six pointer whose photo I have previously posted and a lot smaller than the eight pointer that I have not been able to photograph. The doe is also smaller than other does that we have seen in our yard.

There is a group of five does that go through our yard at least twice a day. In the morning they go west across the road into the Forest Preserve. In the afternoon they go east to someplace behind us to spend the night. This morning the five went through the yard and crossed the road. They walked the west shoulder of the road a good distance before going into the woods.

The speed limit on the road is 35mph. Very few people stick to the posted speed.

However, when we see cars going well below the limit we now that the drivers see deer ahead of them. Hitting a deer is a very good way to drastically re-arrange the front end of a car. I have had several close calls with deer on the road that passes in front of our house.

At least twice deer have passed through our yard and have been hit and killed on the road.

I have written and posted a previous entry where I mentioned that I have hit a deer in our driveway. Not however, with the front bumper.

The radio in my car will continue to play for several minutes after the ignition is turned off and the key removed. It will turn off when the door is opened.

One evening after dark I had returned home and turned off the ignition and removed the key. I sat in the car listening to a piece of music.

The piece ended and I reached for the door handle and pushed the door open.

A deer had crossed the road and was walking up the driveway.

The opening door Smacked The Deer In The Ass!

I think the deer was slightly more surprised than I was.

Log in to write a note

we had big plate glass windows in our cabin in northern michigan. i crayoned trees on the windows so the deer would not try to jump through. smacking one on the rump must have surprised the heck out of both of you! too funny!

February 4, 2013

I am guessing they want you to FEED them!!!!!!

ryn; that is funny! at least for the observer. certainly wasnt for the deer! (grins)

February 4, 2013

Funny stuff about smacking the deer with the door.

February 5, 2013

Last time I worked at Skyways I was so bored I was trying to figure out the age of all the bucks the Hoff mounted on his office wall. I learned a lot – it looks like you have a 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 year old little guy there. 🙂

Bold little things, aren’t they?

February 5, 2013

I see one appears to be munching on wife units bush. I think you could have your own “deer zoo” or deer observatory from your windows. I love watching the deer but the dogs are keeping them out of the yard this winter. I counted 12 within 1/4 mile span last week. Big ones, little ones, and maybe a fawn or two in the mixes. Grandson was with me and he was so excited! Actually so was I and they’ll have more come spring. May have to have extra protection for my produce this summer. Great pictures and thanks for sharing them.

Steve I lost info for you Send email etc to me assp

February 14, 2013

nice shooting sailor!

RYN: Well I hope you had SOME fun in Texas.

Ry??? A slug on a toilet seat? Lololol

April 7, 2013

ryn: It stands for ‘Tertiary And Further Education’ – it’s like a more prac-based version of university.

RYN: We’ve generated enough shredded paper to pack up the entire contents of Capitol Hill. Which, now that I think about it, isn’t such a bad idea . . . 😉

May 30, 2013

We haven’t seen deer here for a long time, but a mile or so away is a state park and my husband saw two had jumped the fence a few days ago and were judging the traffic for a cross over, he’d guessed. Today, there was a dead one on the highway. He was very sad, thought it was one of the two he’d seen earlier. ryn: haha…the loud tv is our waterloo…now I need it lowered andwe are trying to find the sweet spot between too low for K and too high for me.