2023 Beginnings and 2019 Endings

Why hello there OD world. I am back.

In 2019 I made a single post about “being gone for a year” and once again here we are but now it’s almost 4 years since my last post?!
The last time I had that long of a break with OD was when it shut down haha.  I have been searching for ways to reconnect with myself and my happiness but also find a way in this new-aged world to do what I once love which is blogging. When my adventure started on OD there were other blog sites out there but “Social Media” really wasn’t a thing yet.

We now live in this world where we find ourselves looking for instant gratification:

  • Binge-watching shows on streaming services vs. watching as they air each week.
  • Posting photos, thoughts, or something to Facebook for “engagement” of social friendships and getting their responses/reactions immediately.
  • Scrolling through hours of tik-tok videos to come up with a sense of community

I have found that in my world and life, though I have and had MANY friends around me, leaning on those technologies and not really working on myself.  By this I mean when I was posting on OD, yes it was social media sharing my world with people, but it was also about self-reflection and accountability and thought to process. I put effort into most of the posts made and used them as a way of working through life. I really miss that.

Lately, I have been just kinda dealing with life, as all of us have, and really have not had any healthy ways of dealing. Just been sitting on thoughts and almost getting “lazy” with the thought of doing anything about the issues. So I wanted to get back into blogging and just give myself an outlet and a community of people that take the time to read/respond/engage in a way that doesn’t feel superficial or “required”.

With that, I AM BACK! Below are bullet points from the past 4 years:

  • 2019:
    • Quit OSU job and moved into our new house in Medina OH, of course with Dan 😉
    • Dan started his job as a full-time employee with his father’s company, A foundry, with the intent of one day taking over
    • Ran one of the most successful Buckeye Game Fest (BGF) since I have been involved with the board.
    • Started work at the foundry to help out while I was still looking for Full Time Job
    • Continued with schooling
    • Dan’s cousin Katie got married
    • Spent the first Christmas in our First home
  • 2020:
    • FEB
      • Got to attend NFFS conference at Saddlebrook Resort in Florida, it was wonderful since it was freezing back in OH.
      • Traveled to visit Jessica & her Grandma end of Feb in North Carolina
        • Sadly experienced the worst case of food poisoning or Virus ever
    • MAR-JUN
      • COVID 19 Lockdown impacted everyone and everything –> I was “essential” so I had to still go to work daily
      • Originally planned to go-to Ravenwood in March but rescheduled to July
    • JUL
      • Dan proposed to me (I said YES!) at Ravenwood (turns out he was going to do it in March but covid lockdown) on 7-17-20
    • AUG -DEC
      • Took a new job as a contractor for Cardinal Health Pharma project
      • Took TONS of photos of my kitties and their toe beans
  • 2021:
    • Started planning for my 2022 wedding, In Aug 2021 found my wedding dress & venue: Wedding day: 10/22/22
    • Spent family vacation in Sept with Dan’s family in Gatlinburg TN, and also visiting the Biltmore in NC
    • Seen Wicked on the broadway series
  • 2022:
    • Graduated College with B.A. In Communications and Practices
    • Accepted full-time position back at Cardinal Health on the EDI team
    • Got married to my love

AND here we are! I plan to blog more and do some story telling on highlights over the past few years that I really want to capture the memories.

Hopefully, I will gain a new following and grow relationships here. THANKS TO OD for being around!

Log in to write a note
February 6, 2023

Love having you back!!