How to develop an impossible crush.

It’s like the premise of an incredibly cheesy chick lit. I get a new boss and I can’t stand him at first. He’s good looking and cocky. He’s a know it all that reminds people that they’re replaceable. It’s infuriating.

Then something tragic happens and we have to spend a lot of time working together

And he makes me feel good about myself so I don’t mind being around him anymore. Know it all fades to genuine intelligence. The cockiness becomes endearing. And good looking becomes insanely attractive when he tells me I’m doing well.

Then suddenly I realize I have a crush on my boss.

That’s not good.

Next someone mentions that I look a lot like his wife.

Well, that certainly won’t discourage that irrational part of my brain that’s nudging me on telling me, "Youre his type! Maybe you have a chance!"

Yeah I need to stop. Stop.

Those chick lits don’t typically end with the herione as a homewrecker.

Log in to write a note
June 19, 2012

We all know it won’t work…yet, some of us love to keep that crush in the bottom of our hearts, tuck behind our minds, as a warm fuzzy feeling. I feel the same for a female coworker. Yet, am a hole lot more weird than you. Wish you the best luck with your crush. Would love to know how that turns out for you.