Halloween Dance

School is out for the week for NDEA ~ North Dakota Education Association Conferences.

So the 8th grade had their school dance last night with grades 5 thru 8 welcome. Halloween is approaching so they made it a costume dance.

We were not prepared for a Costume Dance so I went to town on my day off. Now I am a cheap one so I buy masks and sweat suits. They have these masks with tiny faces and a bunch of hair. I thought that they were hilarious so I picked up three and sweat suits to match. For Derek I got a mask with the tongue hanging out and an orange t-shirt that says “THIS IS MY COSTUME” because that is so Derek!

When I got back Alexa and Tyler were already home from school. Nadine rode the bus to a friend’s house to spend the night. So Alexa and I started to prepare her for the dance. Fun Stuff.

When I dropped her off at the dance Nadine and her friend were just arriving. So we gave her a mask. It was actually the mask that Alexa had chosen but it matched the outfit that Nadine was wearing.

There was a good turn out for the dance. Not that the kids were dancing or anything ~ they were running around screaming. Ugh! (I can hardly wait until I have to chaperone this dance next year.) There were vampires, princesses, mummies, pirates, angels, ghosts, and goblins. Almost all the kids that attended the dance dressed up but there were a few without costume.

At the dance I invited another mother to my house for coffee. We get together now and then ~ usually when we are dropping off or picking up our daughter either at my house or her house. We have a good time chatting. I even had an apple pie to have with the coffee. I didn’t bake it I bought it! Had I known that she likes flavored coffee we could have indulged in my new coffee!

Too soon ~ because I was having a good time ~ we had to go get the kids from the dance. I picked up Alexa and the girl that was spending the night with her plus two boys that live up the road. There were six kids walking ~ which they were not supposed to be doing because of the curfew ~ so I picked them up too. Does the word illegal pop into your head? Yeah ~ 10 kids in the car is illegal but we are talking Dinkytown. If there were ever enough traffic to have an accident I would be surprised.

And I only had to go three blocks (Dinkytown blocks, not city blocks ~ there is a difference.) to drop off most of them but not enough to be legal. The rest I had to take another couple of blocks. The kids thought that it was fun to pile in the car all together ~ once they all got in.

I think a fun night was had by all.

Log in to write a note
October 23, 2003

Sweat suits and masks are good costume ideas…that can be worn on more than once! Sounds like you all had fun!