Labor Day ~ Day Off and Loving It

 Happy Labor Day! 

I have spent the weekend making jelly and jam. 

I canned some peaches. Every year the local youth group sells the most scrumptious peaches. This year I had no one to split with but I needed them peaches so I bought the whole lug! I ate peaches everyday and I would have continued to eat them but they were getting way soft. I have never canned before so we will see how that went when I open the first jar. 

I made strawberry jelly, strawberry rhubarb jam, jalapeno raspberry jelly, and peach jam. I guess I just got on a jelly kick. I could do this for a living…I love it! I love making it, I enjoy eating it but I really love making it, anything really ~ cooking and baking.

Oh gosh, how could I forget that I pickled beets for the very first time and they turned out fabulous!! Speaking of which I should go get a jar and have some.

Last night I made refrigerator pickles at the request of the young son. I had him sample them after about an hour and even at that time he approved. I bet they are really good now. 

This fall I want to make a garden area and have black dirt hauled in. The alkali is so high in our soil that nothing grows! I can’t even get rhubarb to grow! I want to plant beets and cucumbers next year.  
 

Log in to write a note
September 3, 2012

🙂 – – – –