Maybe…

I started this Monday before I checked my e-mail. After that I got busy and did not have time to post this ~ so here it is ~ probably incomplete but I am moving on.

Maybe I am blowing this whole drinking thing out of proportion.

Maybe I am just jealous that I don’t have the time to go out. I mean who wants to drink in the morning and in the afternoon. On my one night off during the week I would rather be at home with the kids because I don’t see them much.

Maybe it is the fact that when I drink I know my limit and I don’t really, really drunk because I don’t like having a hangover. I am not saying that I have never been really, really drunk before. I just don’t do it every time that I drink. There is an exception to every rule! I just don’t drink that often ~ I think that the last time I had a drink is when SunshineGuy was here. Oh, I take that back ~ I mixed up a Pina` Colada type drink one night after the kids went to bed. Just one! And I had two over Labor Day weekend at the lake.

Maybe it is not so much the drinking ~ it is the drinking and driving that bothers me so much. I have paid enough to get his ass out of jail because of his drinking and driving. I have already warned him not to call me because I will not bail him out again. Tough Love baby!

Maybe it is the sneaking and drinking that irritates me. He goes out but is sure to be home in bed by the time I get home from work. I can tell, even if he is sleeping, that he has been drinking. I can tell by the way that he breathes, I can tell by the position that he is laying in. It is not that hard to figure out.

I am going to try to be done wasting my energy on being angry about his drinking. He is only harming himself! But I will have to have a talk with him about drinking and driving with the kids in the car. It does not happen that often but one time is one time too many. So maybe we can come to a compromise ~ you drink yourself to death but leave the kids at home. I think that will work.

Log in to write a note
November 25, 2003

Honey, you are not blowing any of this out of perportion. And he is not just hurting himself, he is also hurting the ones who love him. I don’t mean to sound harsh. I just know how hurt i was/am by my birthmother. {{hugs}}

November 25, 2003

I agree with both you and Roller Beth. He is hurting everyone who loves him, but if it helps you to NOT worry so much about it, then it is worth it. He’ll still be hurting you, but you won’t be hurting yourself by wasting the energy on worrying about it all the time. Definitely talk to him about leaving the kids home though. They don’t need to be a part of it all.

I am so sorry that you are having to deal with the drinking. I know that it is a huge burden. The thing is…it is so hard to get through to someone who drinks like that, to convince them that they are hurting the ones they love. Hope you have a nice Thanksgiving in spite of his drinking. Luv,