Who Entered Without First Knocking?

If you’d like to read about he Dru Sjodin case this is the link to the articles in the local newspaper

I hope everything is okay! GW and I both worked tonight so I followed her home on the gravel road rather than taking the highway as I usually do. About a mile ~maybe less than a mile ~ from her turn there was a car in the road. GW slowed down. I stopped. Lights are on and nobody is in the car. I do not recall if the car was running or not running.

We continued on our way. I was not totally okay with that but in the recent abduction I was a little more concerned about stopping on the dark, gravel road at 1:30 AM.

GW took her turn but slowed down so I stopped and backed up and took her turn also. We were standing there just getting ready to discuss what we just saw when two police cars pulled up behind me. They asked if we lived there and she said yes. Then the one officer told us that he knows who owns the car but can not find her.

This is so scary! The lady that owns the car lives just up the road from me.

I drove home the rest of the way very slowly just in case she got out and was walking. It is so cold out tonight ~ the thermometer says almost 17 degrees but it is very windy so I am not sure what the wind chill temperature is. Damn cold!

I hope everything is okay! I certainly hope that this is not another abduction! This one is way too close to home!

The scariest part of all of this is Dick called me at work ~ which is not common! He told me that he had heard the door open and close like I had come home. I told him that he must have dreamed it. He said “no because I was in the bathroom and I came out of the bathroom right away when I heard the door. I couldn’t figure out why you were coming home so early.” He saw nothing and that is when he called me at work to be sure that I was still there. I asked him if he was drunk. He said no.

He was trying to talk to me but it was so loud in the bar tonight and we have a really crappy phone so I could hardly hear what he was saying. I had to have him repeat everything that he said.

I asked him to stay awake until I get home. He did not stay awake! He is passed out, reclined on the couch. I know that he is not just sleeping, he has been drinking! By my calculations he has had 15 beers tonight. He had four beers in the fridge, he brought home a case of 24 beer and there is 13 left.

He must think that I am really stupid. I figured out his pattern already ~ if he has been drinking he bags up the garbage before I get home from work. If he doesn’t drink he bags up the garbage in the morning. I know that really sounds stupid but it is true.

There are other ways that I can tell that he has been drinking. I can tell just by the position that he is lying in. I can tell by his breathing pattern. I can usually tell by his voice ~ even over the telephone. Tonight I did not “hear” that he had been drinking because I could hardly hear his voice at all.

He has to work in the morning! I am tempted to just leave him sleep where he is and set my alarm clock for him. But I don’t know that I will be able to take the snoring.

What the hell am I going to do with him? Things have got to change! We are supposed to be going to his Christmas party Saturday night. If this is the way he is going to be I would rather just stay home! I do not want to be his designated driver. This is going to be no fun for me at all. If he could control the amount of alcohol that he consumes it would be a totally different story. I know that it is going to be an open bar ~ it always is! I hate an open bar, make it a cash bar! The alcohol will be flowing like a river. He will be too drunk, I will be sober. He will be having a great time, I will be bored. He will be happy, I will be pissed off. Why go? I can stay home and spend some time with my kids. He can go and stay with his brother (or someone else for all that matters) and I won’t have to deal with him at all. That sounds like such a great plan. I am sure that it does not matter to him if I am there or if I am not there.

Log in to write a note
December 13, 2003

Someone wants on my list? I don’t understand what you mean.