Hi there.

This is my boyfriend’s absolute favorite pic of me.

It has been decided that we are tearing out the ceiling in the kitchen. I think we may do that this weekend. We will buy and install new drywall, when we figure out how to get it home from the store. We might have to rent a truck. We’ll need to choose some light fixtures too.

I also want to go ahead and pick out backsplash tile. We aren’t ready for that install yet. But once the joint compound on the drywall sets and dries, I will need to choose a paint color for the wall. We’re eventually painting the cabinets too, so I’d like to coordinate.

Much of this will probably have to wait until next year. I’m trying to set aside any discretionary income for our trip to Hawaii, which is only two months away. The airfare and accommodations are covered; it’s just about spending money now. I have no idea how much is enough. Some of our meals will be covered and probably many activities too. I at least want to bring back a Hawaiian shirt or a tee for my kiddo, ha.

Speaking of the kiddo, we (his dad and I) set up a meeting with the boy’s behavioral therapist in the morning, so change in plans. I will take him to the meeting with me, and when it’s over, his dad will take him to the Yellow House. (This was his dad’s and my marital house, but I quit-claimed it to him after the divorce.) I will go to work from the meeting, pick up the kid after work, and bring him back here to the Triangle House.

I love this house. It needs a lot of work, but I really feel I was meant to buy it and live here.

Log in to write a note
October 20, 2017

Ah, home improvements – so many decisions, and so much work. I like the picture. I think this is one thing that will be slightly different here after years of social media, a sort of semi-anonymity, rather than how it used to be. A nice balance, I think.

October 20, 2017

I was on OD since 2000 and came to believe I had shared a little too much of my ‘self’ here so, I’m of the same type of thought, semi-anonymous. I don’t know yet. I suppose it will go-as-it-flows. 🙂

October 26, 2017

I cannot be anonymous. Many folks already know who I am.

October 20, 2017

Sounds like you’re going to be pretty busy. It’s wonderful to be able to shape your home the way you wish it to be. Good luck with that. 🙂 nice to meet you too.

October 23, 2017

It is so good to have a nest you love…I’m glad you bought it too!

October 23, 2017

Just got back into OD for the testing phase. That trip to Hawaii sounds amazing! Been there twice, would love to go back.

October 26, 2017

Perhaps you can advise: how much spending money should I take? The hotel and airfare are already paid, so I’m just talking about money for food, fun, and a few souvenirs.

March 28, 2018

I’m seabreeze from old OD and PB