Confused or abused

Maybe I am too messed up to have a real relationship. Maybe my expectations are too much. I’m not sure how to tell. Well here is an example of what upset me this morning. I received word that my son’s father will not be attending his birthday party. He hasn’t seen his child in about a year anyway so it is probably for the best. Still it doesn’t hurt any less on holidays. So I said to my boyfriend “I hope you and your kids will be able to come to Jack’s party. His dad isn’t coming.” With tears in my eyes. My bf’s car is being fixed but I offered to give them a ride to the party. I guess he was messaging his ex about their kids because he did not immediately respond and kept texting her, so I turned over on the bed. He eventually said something about seeing if he gets his car fixed, and put his hand on my shoulder. I brush it off telling him I don’t want to talk anymore because apparently he had more important conversations to worry about. Idk. Things happen a lot like this that make me feel like my emotions are not considered or important. Am I being sensitive and petty? Or not?

Log in to write a note
April 22, 2018

Not in the least. I am so sorry.

April 22, 2018

@byfaithalone thank you

April 22, 2018

I can definitely understand why you were feeling sad.  You probably felt as if others didn’t care that it was your son’s birthday.  Your boyfriend should have picked up on that instead of being insensitive.  I’m sorry.