Log in to write a note
kat
December 16, 2018

gorgeous!

December 16, 2018

@kaliko Thank you…

December 16, 2018

I’ve never seen one up close. I’ll bet it’s spectacular.

December 16, 2018

@startingover_1   Yes… I’ve seen the females bring their keiki’s (babies) right up to the boat…

December 16, 2018

Beautiful! You’re not on the island anymore?

December 16, 2018

@tiffany_b   No… after the death of my youngest daughter… I decided to return to the mainland… now living in Brookings, Oregon

December 16, 2018

Such joy!  How wonderful that you were able to sail with the Trilogy group and the icing on the cake was seeing the magnificent humpback whales.  Did you see dolphins too?  If so, what type of dolphins?

December 16, 2018

@wildrose_2 Spinner dolphins… one day at lunch… we saw what we estimated to be about 200 of them… someone told us that they were feeding… fun watching them spin in the air…

December 16, 2018

@mauijim Oh, you just made me remember something!  When my sister and I were in Hawaii, we went on a glass bottom boat ride.  On the way back to shore we saw spinner dolphins.  It was fun to watch them spin in the air.  How lucky we both are to have seen spinner dolphins.  I hope someday I can see humpback whales as well.

December 16, 2018

They are amazing creatures. I was just watching some videos on humpback whales a few days ago. They will actually help hide seals from Orca’s when they are being hunted, and there was a women was in the water w/ one. The humpback kept nudging her and kind of pushing her, some to find out there was a shark in the water, it was as if the humpback was keeping safe.

Lovely picture as always 🤙

December 16, 2018

@cherrywine_1 I have found them to be very gentle creatures… except for when they are mating… then  the males are quite aggressive…

Many is the time that the whales have come up to the boat… so close you can touch them…