Not So Social vs. Social Butterfly

It’s finally a Friday where hubby doesn’t have to work tomorrow. We have a couple’s massage booked for tomorrow. I’m so ready for that.

So here’s a question. I’m one who’s not very social. I don’t need to interact with people on a daily basis. It’s not who I am. Hubby, on the other hand, lives for social interaction. Sometimes I feel like he prefers his phone and texting to decompress instead of coming home and relaxing with me. Yeah, I get it, I’ve been home for nearly a year now, but I’m happy to see my husband. When he gets home, I have zero use for my phone. I know people that say, ugh my SO is home all of the time. Why is that bad? One day you won’t have each other and you’ll look back on this time and wish you had it back. Maybe it’s me. Idk, I just really don’t get it. Maybe it’s just because I can live without the outside world.

For people who are in similar situations, one of you is less social than the other, how do you deal with it? I tried to explain to him how I was feeling and he gets all defensive. “You just won’t be happy unless I cut everyone off.” Umm I’m sorry, did I say that? No. I just don’t get why I need to “schedule” time with my husband. Why we need a time to cut off our phones to spend time together? Smh. This is why I have a hard time opening up. So, for that, I just won’t ever mention the phone again.

Log in to write a note