So many things make sense now… ADHD???

I never knew why some dumb shit really affected me. I can recall on one occasion where I had become obsessed with collecting Rae Dunn and I remember my first purchase, it was a bunch of cereal bowls. I came home super excited and wanted to set them up, but instead i just put them away. about half an hour later, my husband took out ice cream and used the newly purchased bowls to give to the kids. I was very upset, I wanted to cry, i didn’t understand why he had grabbed the new bowls when we had a ton of other ones that he could have used. When i expressed my feelings, he got very upset at me and said i was exaggerating and told me to keep my bowls and dumped the ice cream onto other containers to give the kids. I became more upset. But i didn’t understand then, what i understand now.

I had never thought about it or even considered anything was wrong with me, however, a couple of months ago my brother was talking to me about a situation i had become involved in and that’s when he mentioned that he thought i had ADHD. I took it upon myself to research and find out what it was, and so I did and as I sat there answering the questions being asked i kept nodding my head, yes that’s me, yes that’s me.

So much makes sense now. how sensitive i can be with situations. for example the one right now. I feel like history repeats. it really hurts me when i loose a friend, because i’ve never had many friends, and ADHD explains it. I stopped talking to Cinthya because she was having fun and i was home with Ryan and it hurt me that she didn’t care about me (that’s how i felt at that moment). Same thing with Chaoxia and Frank. They had a different life and we became apart but i should have seen it like this is life and that happens, instead i felt abandoned and ignored. I had online friends whom after a few years we got into disagreements and said things that hurt me. Like Monica, she was very mean in her message to me and i was very hurt because she knew how much i was working and planning my trip to mexico and how she never reached out when i arrived and how we didn’t get to celebrate her birthday or spend time together or most importantly meet each other. I cried several times, reading her message. now i don’t but i did then.

By far the worst feeling was when Willy(my brother in law) stopped talking to me, we were so closed and it was all done in a blink of an eye. I don’t want to get into details about that particular case, but willy was very real and a good friend. He listened to me, he understood me when i felt misunderstood. he was important in my life and in my growth to mature. i lost him as a friend for misunderstandings with George (my husband). he didn’t speak to me for 3 years. I cried several times because he would not respond. he just ignored me.

Today i find myself in the same situation. I lost another friendship, Carlos (my brother in law) we got along very well and i helped him a lot, he is the youngest brother of them and he went through rough things. But this week, its all done and gone. i’ve been wanting to cry for days and i can’t because i don’t want to be questioned by George why i’m crying over loosing him as a friend, he just doesn’t understand how I feel, and how i feel right now is betrayed, i feel used and idk just taken advantage of. He said some things to my sister’s wife and it really hurt me. it didn’t’ matter how much i helped him, it didn’t matter how much i was there for him, when i needed him to be there for me he wasn’t. and it hurts. i can’t be the same, we work together and its complicated, I can’t quit cause its my business but i can’t fire him because everyone needs to agree to the decision and at the end of the day it’s family. i wish right now i could just lay down and cry and let it out. but i can’t not without someone possibly seeing me or hearing me. its so complicated. i have no one and George doesn’t understand. he has been more helpful around the house and kids now that i’m working but i’m not happy and i don’t know why. I’m so overwhelmed and i just need to let it out. i have no time to myself, George doesn’t believe in that, he wants us to be together all the time, but i do need my alone time and he doesn’t get it.

I started eating again. i’m probably gaining weight because of all of this. Things have been all over the place and i’m becoming a mess. i feel like little things overwhelm me. things that shouldn’t but they do……

 

i hope things get better.

Log in to write a note
November 10, 2023

Hi! Fellow ADHDer here, but I got diagnosed a while ago so I’m used to fighting the monster. There’s a YouTube channel called “How to ADHD” (https://www.youtube.com/@HowtoADHD) that you might find informative (she’s one of us, not a normie, lol) but you may also find short-term therapy helpful for developing coping mechanisms and learning how to navigate things. It did for me when I was first diagnosed (I was in my thirties), but it’s not for everyone.

I’m sorry about your friendships. Thats one of the hardest things to deal with sometimes. If it helps, from the outside looking in your husband totally over-reacted to the bowl situation. Rae Dunn was your hyperfocus at the time (I’ve spent SO MUCH MONEY on changing hyperfocus interests) and those were special bowls, but you were each looking at them through different lenses and didn’t know how to bridge the gap.