Only a Sith deals in absolutes…

Two years ago today I paid off my school loans.  I am 57.  Years before, I can still recall promising myself that after I reached this milestone, I would set a five-year retirement plan.  This was the plan.  This was the goal.

In the meantime, we have had the “new normal” of post-pandemic work life.  My commuting schedule has changed dramatically.  I have made friends, lost friends, figured out friends and most of all started to figure out myself.  I love to work.  I love to have a purpose.  I give myself responsibility where I don’t need to.  Retirement seemed like the right thing to do at the time.  It’s everyone’s goal, right?

Newsflash.  I am not everyone.  I needed to figure this out for myself.

On top of this, I was diagnosed with myasthenia gravis.  When I received my diagnosis, the doctor mentioned that a lot of folks with MG go on disability, and I was welcome to start that process.  Was he kidding me?  I think I took it as a challenge.  The voice in my head declared, “Disability?!? WE will work TEN years if possible.  And, Universe willing, WE will make that possible.”

Since the pandemic, my diagnosis and 10 thousand other life-changing moments in the last two years, I do know one thing for sure.  I have no idea about anything but today (and probably more likely – this minute).

The future?  Let’s just cross the bridges as we come to them.

Log in to write a note
December 7, 2022

I have never heard of this disease, I had to google.  If you desire to persevere, I am sure you will.

December 7, 2022

@strawberryjelly  thank you!  Takes a lot of thinking positively and avoiding stress.  It’s a whole new (and much better) world!