Birthday Blues

Sunday was Stephens 27th birthday.  Firday night I bought him a pool/air hockey table for his birthday present.  He was with me, it was a impulse buy kinda thing, but either way he is happy with it.  I had originally planned on doing some stuff to his truck that I know he wants done, this works out better though because his birthday present wasnt late.  He just told me the day before that he was in Sears and saw a table he really liked but couldnt afford.  We went to Sears so he could spend his Christmas gift cards, and hour or so later as we were getting ready to leave I mentioned the table and we went over and looked at it and noticed they had reduced the price.  They sales guy came by and said they reduced all the displays by 40% so they could sell them and make room for the Spring collection.  So now the $700 table Stephen originally wanted was just over $350.  Its now sitting in the living room.  We (the whole family) played pool and air hockey ALL day Saturday.  It was fun.  The table has a few flaws, thats what happens when you buy a display, you take that risk.  But its quite alright.

So, while we were in NY I got the feeling neither of his two best friends, the two guys who are supposed to complete our wedding party, that Stephen has been friends with since he was a kid, didnt really wanna hang out.  They werent anxious to see him.  His birthday came and went and neither of them called him.  So, not only was he depressed about getting older, but his 2 best pals neglected to call.  Im a bit pissed about this recent behaviour, for my Stephens sake.  Its not fair that he is sad and theres nothing I can do to make it better. I did do this though:

How are things going?? Good I hope!!

I was just wonderin whats up with you not calling Stephen Sunday. He waited around all day since he was hoping you would have called at midnight but you didnt, (insert opposite friends name) didnt either.

Dont get me wrong, Im not hear to bitch, just wonderin whats going on, it seemed like no one was anxious to see him while we were there for Christmas and now his birthday is forgotten.

If it wasnt bothering him that you guys didnt call I wouldnt bother sending this but his feelings are hurt and theres nothing I can do to make him feel better.

Alright, I guess I’ll go now.

Take care!!

~Kim~

I sent an email to both friends.  I wonder how they will respond.

Anyways……….Stephen wants to get a pig, we worked a bit on the old pig pen Sunday, got it "pig ready".  I found 2 pigs in town that we might go take a look at, we shall see.

My dad has stopped drinking.  This time he might actually stick with it.  This time he actually did it on his own.  As of right now, Im proud of him.  Glad he’s doing it.

Now, if only mom and Stephen would quit smoking.  Stephen was doing sooooooooo good, I was sooooooo proud of him, but then he threw it all away.  I told him that after the new year I was no longer buying or paying for cigs.  None of my money will go towards that habit.  He said the carton he bought to take to New York would be the last………..yet he’s still smoking.  I really wish he’d quit.

Just so you know Ive been reading your diaries.  Ive become more of a lurker than anything.

Enjoy your week!!


Log in to write a note
January 9, 2007

Glad you guys got the game table! Sounds like a lot of fun! YAY!

January 9, 2007

Good luck to your dad!