*****OctoPhoMo 20*****

20th – Black cat -OR- Zombies

 

Fittingly enough, on October 1st, I was heading home from picking Brooke up at school I noticed what I thought was a dead animal in the road.  As I approached it, I saw it pick its head up and realized it was a kitten, still alive.  I quickly turned the car around just as I saw another car approaching, I repeated out loud "Please dont run it over, please dont run it over."  I parked the car, jumped out, and ran across the busy road.  AS I got near it I saw it lift its head and give out the most pathetic little cry, I said "Hello Kitty" grabbed it and ran back.  When I safely made it out of the way of the trucks coming from both directions, I held it in the air and it took me a moment to collect myself, preparing myself for what I was about to actually see.  Up until now I hadn’t actually looked at it, for all I knew it was going to be mangled into sad little bits.  I opened my eyes, looked, blinked, and looked again.  It was perfect.  I jumped back in the car and showed the kids.  My guess is she wandered out there, got frightened by a car, and was too paralyzed with fright to move.  She couldn’t have been more than 6 weeks old, maybe 8.  We brought her home and named her Lucky.  Although she isn’t completely black, she is black and orange, which goes back to my first statement, "Fittingly enough, on October 1st"….she’s already decorated for Halloween.  🙂

 

Log in to write a note
November 14, 2012

OMG Lucky just looks like my cat, Sgt. Peppers!