A Drummer & Real Estate Blues

I hope you’ve had a chance to laugh at me in my previous entry 🙂

I feel bad for my munchkin today. I’ve been setting him up with piles of toys & books and asking him to play on his own so I can get some house things sorted out. Luckily, he’s a very good boy and doesn’t mind doing so. He’s napping now, and of course the calls & emails have tapered off….timing never works with a little one, does it? 🙂

I’ve been scanning, emailing & talking on the phone all morning. Our paralegal (who is wonderful, one of the most pleasant people we’ve worked with in real estate, EVER) asked me to send her a copy of our good faith estimate from the bank so she could review it. She basically found $4,000 in useless, over-estimated, or wrongly charged (as in, the seller pays them and not us) worth of crap. So all of that should be coming off our closing costs. They are still going to be high – but that means we get to keep $4,000 in our savings account which is, really really really really good.

She also answered a lot of my questions and rationalized my anger towards our loan processor. The day Matt got back from Charlotte, we went to my Dad’s work to fax in all of the paperwork they needed to process our loan. That was March 26th (you can even see me mention it in my entry on the 27th). The fax printed a confirmation, saying it went through. Matt emailed our loan processor the next day, saying it was sent & we had a fax confirmation, to let us know if there were any problems. We’ve heard nothing. No news is good news, right? We assumed things were happening. Nope. She called Matt’s THIRD line (he has his cell listed first, then his work line, THEN his work blackberry) and left a voicemail last night saying she never got our documents. WHY in the hell did it take her 18 DAYS to tell us this?!?!?!

So, Matt scanned in ALL 38 pages of documents this morning, sent her two emails, left her a voicemail, and set up a "document share" through their company software and attached all 38 files and set it up so only the two of them can review them. He hasn’t heard anything. 

Our paralegal can’t do squat until she gets a commitment letter from our loan processor, who has obviously had her thumb up her ass for the past 18 days. So suddenly – we are in a mad rush. What, the frig. Our realtor & paralegal suggest we give her until 3pm before calling her supervisor and asking for immediate action. Apparently our attorney didn’t realize we’d already locked in our loan (I guess it’s not common to do it so early in NYS, but we were accustomed to doing it right away), so now they want things to happen ASAP in order to meet that deadline. So, there’s no chance of us closing early….it’s pretty safe to say May 14th. Hopefully no later.

We’re kind of in a stand-still for the next hour, waiting for the "go" time to call stupid lady’s supervisor. I hate real estate. Haaaate it!

Also, another pain? I had this weird pain in my shoulder/neck yesterday, it hurt every time I turned my head to the left. It didn’t really feel like a stiff neck – like the kind you get from sleeping on it wrong? It felt like a knot. So I asked Matt to rub it after we put Luke to bed. He did, and at the time it felt great – it seemed like he was fixing it. Only today? It feels like I was beaten there. I keep looking in the mirror for bruises because I swear, it feels like I was punched repeatedly. And the original pain is still there, too. Awesome.

Yesterday, after going to Amanda’s and then dealing with the whole spider business, Mallory walked here from her house. When she got here, we took Luke for a walk around the block in his wagon, and then after a quick trip to Aldi’s we drove Mallory home. When we got back, we watched GH (and Luke drummed):

Future Rock Star from Jenn Rychlicki on Vimeo.

It felt like we were out of the house all day….and today we’ve been stuck here; Luke having to play alone and me having to deal with crap real estate people. Boo. I’m doing a crap-ton of laundry, too. I’ve done 2 loads, and I have….hmm….8 or 10 more to do. Yes, seriously. I have 2 huuuuge garbage bags of clothes from Amanda to put into rotation (in addition to the crap ton of laundry we already needed to do) and my mom’s washer only does half loads. This is gonna take me all week!!

Back to the boring stuff. At least I’m going to start up coffee round two 🙂

Log in to write a note