Derby is the language of rough…

I had THE BEST time on my roadtrip… It was Flipping madass fun.
New Mexico isn’t too far from here, about 4 hours and we drove through some of the most gorgeous scenery you could ever hope to see in your life. The midwest gets lagged on pretty bad for being blah blah and simple but I’m not joking… Colorado and New Mexico are just the shit when it comes to the pretties. My friend Sarah and I have decided that we’re gonna take a trip back down there and take some serious photos. If we’d had time to stop at all the amazing places we’d have turned that 4 hour trip into 4 days…

Sarah’s friend Ashley came in from Hawaii for the adventure. She’s hilarium at it’s best and we spent the entire time laughing till we cried, dancing and singing at the top of our voices in the car. It was like Thelma and Louise (and Louise’s best friend, lol). Sarah’s fave pasttime is lagging on my accent and I don’t mind a bit because I’m equally as good at lagging on hers. SHe nearly wet herself laughing when she realized that Aussie’s actually say "crikey" (well… I do anyway) and then spent the next 24 hours on a Steve Erwin roll "Crikey mate… Didja see that…???? Just bewwwwdiful."

Funny shit.

On the upside, our derby team beat Duke City (from Alburquerque, NM)… No… wait… We thrashed them! It was close for awhile there but we broke through and the final score was 171-123. That after party at this little hole-in-the-wall bar was so fun. I’m not much of a drinker (and I don’t have a huge problem with that either) so I had one and nursed it while everyone else got shitfaced. Mind you… I have noticed that at bars over here, they use phenomonal quantities of alcohol. My screwdriver was 98% vodka and 2% O.J. It was like they used the orange juice to add a little color. Everytime I took a sip (and they were teeny tiny sips) my head went into a full-on spin.

Tonight I came home, spent time with my lil Sacha who turned 8 today and just lolled around in the sun. The girls were skating outside (Ty is determined to start Junior Derby) so I was watching them do their thing. My neighbour brought around dinner and that was gratefully received. Always nice to have someone lend a hand (and cooking is something I seem to be notoriously unmotivated to do whilst Jimmy is gone).

Spoke to Jimmy for about 5 minutes… He’s thankful for the overload of work so he doesn’t have to wallow in just how gross it is over there. He has described Kandahar as a slum. There is a shit pool in the middle of the FOB and it’s ungodly hot. I’m not jealous… If i’d ever thought about being in the military (which I did many years ago pre-children), I’m now rather happy with my decision to be right out of it. We’re rolling along OK… I’m now starting to kick into that gear that I had when I was in Australia, used to being on my own. It takes time but once you find a rhythym, you move pretty well.

Colorado has moved into the monsoon season, lol. I call it the monsoon season anyway because we have the most brilliantly sunny days and then most afternoons the clouds roll in and the storms settle over the sky. Tonight though was something else altogether. This brilliant electrical thunderstorm… Lightening flashes of bright purple and pink slicing across the skies and thunder so loud you’re sure you were on set of a horror movie. I sat outside for awhile and video’d the action but then this massive clap of thunder scared the shit out of me and I had to go inside because I realized I was shaking. *grin* It made me laugh and although I’m not really a horror movie person, I got a rush from the fright.

I think we’re gonna hit up "Geeks who Drink" in the next few nights. It’s a pub quiz phenomonen here in Colorado and a lot of fun. My cash flow sitch is a little dire until Friday (payday!!!) so this geek probably won’t drink, lol.

 

Created by MyFitnessPal – Free Calorie Counter

Log in to write a note
August 9, 2010

Sounds fun!!

August 9, 2010
August 9, 2010
August 9, 2010

got any pics of derby?? one of my other faves is into derby too 🙂

August 9, 2010

it sounds like you had a good time! I hope you get into a rhythym soon 🙂 xxx

August 9, 2010

HEEEEEEEEEEEEEELLLOOOOO! Please, please, PLEASE don’t say crikey. *tear* You got fuckin’ nice tits for a sheela Thats what you say!

August 9, 2010

Yay for road trips! I’d love to join a roller derby but I’m so unco! RYN: Yep! Moving to England in December! Its been well thought out, but I’m still kind of shitting it! haha!

August 9, 2010

Soon. Few weeks/months he’ll be flying through there, yes! And yes, he is coming home – but he’s been there 7 1/2 months already.

August 11, 2010

I love thunderstorms and electrical storms. They’re amazing. I remember Flattie telling me about that poo pool. Lol. Glad you’ve got your own routine already. Sorry I’ve missed you on Skype. I have been there. Can’t go on tmw, but can fri morning my time.

August 11, 2010

I LOVE road trips!!!! Fancy one in september 2011? I’m seriously thinking that I will defo becoming over for a holiday. i have a couple of friends in different parts of the US and YOU are on my list lady.