The Things You Own…

Ugghh…The weight of possessions. Not mine, exactly. Things that I have inherited from my parents, both who have passed. I have gotten rid of most of it, but am stuck on a few things. Things I don’t want, but feel some sort of obligation to keep, out of respect for my parents. This is not even things that hold sentimental value. They are just things that may (or may not) have been important to my parents. And so I feel that they should be important to me. But they are just not. I am only keeping them so I don’t feel a sense of guilt by throwing them away. This is not a good reason, I know. It is something that I am working through. Hence the post. I understand that what these things DO carry is an emotional baggage that I simply don’t want. I have assigned a value to them that is completely arbitrary. Like somehow I will be judged for saying that I don’t want them. That it is somehow expected that I SHOULD want to keep them, simply because they belonged and may have been important to my parents. I know this is sheer nonsense. But still, I cannot escape, for the longest moment, the nagging itch. It has been much easier to say I will deal with it later. It is not hurting anything, really. But maybe it is.

It is time to shrug.

Log in to write a note