bits and pieces

Rather than rambling on and on, I thought I would just do a series of short(er than normal) updates.
 

Grandparents:
Saw my grandparents on my birthday. They came to dinner. Grandma informed me that Grandpa has Parkinsons. I mentioned a few entries ago how rapidly he has deteriorated all of a sudden. Now I know why.
 

House:
We are all settled in the new place. Well, mostly. Still have a couple walls that need some art, and still have a couple vases that need a home. And still need to figure out how to get the new shelving unit in my hallway not to lean. Are the floorboards or something uneven? It annoys me immensely. Oh and I have to figure out how to get the damn AC to fly up the stairs and down the hall into the bedroom at night. It’s hot as HELL in our bedroom even though we have central air. Why is it not cooling sufficiently???

Birthday:

Had a nice birthday. Mostly. Besides the Parkinson’s part. Grandma, Grandpa, and Mom and Dad got to see the new house all put together. We also had Madaya and Isaiah for the weekend. Madaya made me a gift bag full of hand written and hand decorated letters and pictures. Pretty sure it was the most awesome present I have ever gotten.

Madaya:
She is now living with about 8 other kids and 7 other adults in a house. She hates it. Dad lost the apartment finally because he hasn’t had a job in over 3 years. I guess the kids are really mean to her and she is never really supervised because with so many adults, everyone just assumes someone else is looking after the kids. She wants to live here, especially now that she has her own space.

 

Wedding:
We have been engaged for almost a year!!! Now that we are mostly settled in the new house, it’s crunch time for the wedding. Time to widdle down the invite list, go dress shopping, go to the cake tasting, and make the invitations. Now that the wedding is less than a year away, it’s starting to feel more real.

Isaiah:
He was finally diagnosed with ADHD. But the doctor thinks nothing needs to be done. Hm. Not sure how much good that will do him.

 

Lyndsey:
I told you about the tax stuff, right? About how she claimed Isaiah even though the court ordered, and then RE-ordered that Chewie claims him on odd tax years; and how they are both being audited now as a result? Well, that bitch did it again. According to MN law, no one can claim a child as a dependent unless they sleep in that household at least 6 months per year. So nevermind that Chewie’s expenses to raise Isaiah are at least the same, if not more, than hers. Just because Isaiah only sleeps here 2 weekens a month doesn’t mean we don’t have to provide a bedroom that goes otherwise unused. It doesn’t mean we don’t have to have a full wardrobe or a full set of toys here either. Or feed him every other day, exactly the same amount of meals she feeds him. But I guess because he sleeps at her house more, she gets the tax credit. Screw what the court ordered. Isaiah must be really expensive while he sleeps for her to deserve the break YET AGAIN. So the state kindly let us know that Chewie owes over two grand, due in 60 days. Funny thing is, Chewie only made about 16,000 last year. So two grand is a walk in the fucking park.
 

I don’t know why on EARTH we would think we could claim Isaiah after the court ordered it, and our expenses are exactly the same as hers. Silly us. We really ought to pay more attention to these things.

 

Log in to write a note
May 23, 2010

Could you try getting custody of Madaya? It sounds like she really needs you guys as a real family. And I love hearing about wedding stuff! Where are you thinking about going for your dress? I know there are bad & good things about all places, but I was really happy with my dress buying experience at David’s Bridal in Maple Grove. My consultants name was Jen and she was awesome. I did not enjoy the fitting experience. I called for a date to go down and get fitted/get adjustments and the lady (an Asian who I could barely understand) got my appt wrong and said I showed up on the wrong day. So, I called to speak with a manager and they said that the alterations dept had to handle it because they had their own schedule. I wish I would have complained more about that, but their dress selection was outstanding and I never felt rushed. Let me know if you have any questions or want advice:) Weddings are a lot of planning, but so much fun!

May 23, 2010

Wow. You are going through something similar as one of my friends with the child tax thing. Why do people have to bee such A-holes! Argh! That Lindsey beotch is lucky I don’t know her because I would give her a piece of my mind and it isn’t even my business. Sorry! It just makes me mad when people are so..I can’t find the word but I am sure you know what I mean because you have to deal with her!GL

WHERE AND WHEN IS THE CAKE TASTING?

May 23, 2010

Wow…how can they go against a court order???

May 24, 2010

Tax Law follows no sensible reasoning

May 24, 2010

I don’t get that. Can’t you show the IRS the court order and have them penalize her for illegally claiming him? That’s just messed up! Sorry to hear about your grandfather. Parkinson’s is so sad…

RYN: You’d have a lengthy commute were you to be our drummer. 😛 — That tax situation is very similar to one a friend of mine is going through. It’s hugely frustrating and causes everyone involved random bouts of homicidal rage- I’m sure you understand. Congrats on getting situated in your new home, and good luck with the wedding plans. They can be a real bitch. 😛

June 17, 2010

superevilex is at it again huh? Wow…she must have not gotten that memo…WTF ever! I give you tons of credit for only using the word Bitch once! Congrats on the new house and the up coming wedding chica! You have come a long way girl! 🙂

July 8, 2010

Diagnosed with ADHD and the dr. says, NOTHING needs to be done??? Wha??? Yes… ADHD management usually does involve some combination of medications & behavior modifications, but there are even less measures that can be effectively incorporated including lifestyle changes, and counseling. You’re right. Doing nothing will not help him at all.

Mns
August 4, 2010

oh. my. gosh. that’s horrible abought the taxes 🙁 so not right. the court and the irs need to get their act together! i have a friend who’s renting a condo, has the same problem with the air conditioning. its so very inefficient, doesn’t cool off the upstairs bedroom at all. there is a breeze which comes in the window which makes it a bit more tolerable.

November 23, 2010

Why don’t I know what happened with your wedding?

January 2, 2011

You are getting as bad as homer with entries…… (I should talk… lol) Happy new year Ny! Seriously, would LOVE it if there was a new entry about your upcoming wedding! How’s it going? Everything going smooth? You will post pictures HERE in OD too, right? I mean, I know I’ll see some at the *other* site…The dark side. lol

Mns
January 25, 2011

Yes! We want to see!

January 28, 2011

Okay……. waiting…. still………… seriously….. how long can a honeymoon take? 🙂

March 23, 2011

Tried to look you up on FB today, I don’t even have a FB so I made a FB to look you up. I found one, that may possibly have been you (It was flowers and I thought maybe wedding flowers?) but then I remembered..thats not even your name anymore! I adore you dear. I wish I knew how you were doing <3